New Jersey Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) License Requirements
Official classification: Home Improvement Contractor Business (HICB) Registration · Issued by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect).
🏗️ General ContractorNJ ✔ Verified 2026-09-28
In New Jersey, general contractors must hold the Home Improvement Contractor Business (HICB) Registration, issued by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect), and a $10,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed general contractor in New Jersey
Follow these steps to earn your Home Improvement Contractor Business (HICB) Registration. Every figure is verified against the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. None required for registration. A 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) sets a future license standard of 2 years of supervised experience or an approved apprenticeship, but it takes effect only six months after the State Board adopts its rules, and no rules had been adopted as of September 2026.
- Confirm exam requirements. New Jersey sets no state trade exam for this license, though your city or county may require one.
- Secure your surety bond. New Jersey requires $10,000-$50,000 compliance surety bond, letter of credit, or securities (varies by contract value: $10,000 for contracts under $10,000 or annual services under $150,000; $25,000 for $10,000-$120,000 contracts or $150,000-$750,000 annual services; $50,000 for contracts over $120,000 or at least $750,000 in annual services).
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: $500,000 per occurrence commercial general liability insurance. Workers' compensation: Workers' compensation insurance required for contractors with employees.
- Clear the background check. Not publicly specified
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect) — $110 application fee, plus a Included license fee. Processing time: Typically several weeks for current registration; exam-based licensing timeline not yet established.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Annual (by March 31).
For the general path in every state, see the General Contractor guide →
New Jersey general contractor license lookup
To confirm a general contractor is properly licensed in New Jersey — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Home Improvement Contractor — Residential and noncommercial property improvement work including repairs, renovations, modernization, installation, replacement, restoration, painting, construction, remodeling, moving, and demolition
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | None required for registration. A 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) sets a future license standard of 2 years of supervised experience or an approved apprenticeship, but it takes effect only six months after the State Board adopts its rules, and no rules had been adopted as of September 2026. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $110 |
| License fee | Included |
| Renewal fee | $90 (by March 31); $115 late renewal (April 1-30); Reinstatement: $140 (after April 30) |
| Renewal period | Annual (by March 31) |
| Continuing education | None required for registration. The 2024 law sets 6 hours per two-year license cycle once licensure takes effect. |
| Bond required | $10,000-$50,000 compliance surety bond, letter of credit, or securities (varies by contract value: $10,000 for contracts under $10,000 or annual services under $150,000; $25,000 for $10,000-$120,000 contracts or $150,000-$750,000 annual services; $50,000 for contracts over $120,000 or at least $750,000 in annual services) |
| Liability insurance | $500,000 per occurrence commercial general liability insurance |
| Property damage | — |
| Workers' comp | Workers' compensation insurance required for contractors with employees |
| Background check | Not publicly specified |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | None (registration is not a competency license, so there is nothing to reciprocate) · other states' agreements |
| Processing time | Typically several weeks for current registration; exam-based licensing timeline not yet established |
What a New Jersey general contractor license costs
| Application fee | $110. |
|---|---|
| License fee | Included. |
| Surety bond | $10,000-$50,000 compliance surety bond, letter of credit, or securities (varies by contract value: $10,000 for contracts under $10,000 or annual services under $150,000; $25,000 for $10,000-$120,000 contracts or $150,000-$750,000 annual services; $50,000 for contracts over $120,000 or at least $750,000 in annual services). A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety. |
| Renewal fee | $90 (by March 31); $115 late renewal (April 1-30); Reinstatement: $140 (after April 30). |
| Renewal period | Annual (by March 31). |
Exams
| No examination required for registration (a competency exam is planned for the future license) | Provider: — · Passing: — · Fee: — |
|---|
Renewing a New Jersey general contractor license
The Home Improvement Contractor Business (HICB) Registration renews on a fixed cycle set by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect). Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Annual (by March 31) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $90 (by March 31); $115 late renewal (April 1-30); Reinstatement: $140 (after April 30) |
| Continuing education | None required for registration. The 2024 law sets 6 hours per two-year license cycle once licensure takes effect. |
| Where to renew | New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect) |
Local / municipal notes
New Jersey does not have a single statewide general contractor license. General contractors performing residential/noncommercial work must register (not license) as Home Improvement Contractor Businesses (HICBs). A 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) creates a future license with an exam, experience and continuing education, but the license requirement only starts six months after the new State Board adopts its rules. As of September 2026 the Board's Laws and Regulations page lists the statute and no adopted rules, so registration, with the bond, insurance and workers' compensation rules that applied from the March 2025 renewal, is the only program in force. Some municipalities may have additional local licensing requirements.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a New Jersey general contractor license cost?
Application: $110. License: Included. Renewal: $90 (by March 31); $115 late renewal (April 1-30); Reinstatement: $140 (after April 30).
How do I look up a general contractor license in New Jersey?
Search the official license database at newjersey.mylicense.com. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do general contractors in New Jersey need a surety bond?
$10,000-$50,000 compliance surety bond, letter of credit, or securities (varies by contract value: $10,000 for contracts under $10,000 or annual services under $150,000; $25,000 for $10,000-$120,000 contracts or $150,000-$750,000 annual services; $50,000 for contracts over $120,000 or at least $750,000 in annual services)
What experience is required for a New Jersey general contractor license?
None required for registration. A 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) sets a future license standard of 2 years of supervised experience or an approved apprenticeship, but it takes effect only six months after the State Board adopts its rules, and no rules had been adopted as of September 2026.
Is insurance required for general contractors in New Jersey?
Liability: $500,000 per occurrence commercial general liability insurance. Workers' compensation: Workers' compensation insurance required for contractors with employees.
How long does it take to get a New Jersey general contractor license?
Processing time: Typically several weeks for current registration; exam-based licensing timeline not yet established.
Is a background check required for general contractors in New Jersey?
Background check: Not publicly specified.
How often must a New Jersey general contractor license be renewed?
Annual (by March 31). Continuing education: None required for registration. The 2024 law sets 6 hours per two-year license cycle once licensure takes effect.
Official sources
njconsumeraffairs.gov/HIHEC
njconsumeraffairs.gov/HIHEC/Pages/regulations.aspx
njconsumeraffairs.gov/Documents/HIC-HEC-Regarding-Changes-To-The-Law-New-Requirements-For-Registration.pdf
njconsumeraffairs.gov/hic/Pages/default.aspx
njconsumeraffairs.gov/hic/Pages/applications.aspx
njconsumeraffairs.gov/hic/Pages/FAQ.aspx
coleschotz.com/new-jersey-tightening-the-screws-on-its-home-improvement-contractor-licensing-requirements
nextinsurance.com/blog/new-jersey-contractor-license-and-insurance-requirements
servicetitan.com/licensing/contractor/new-jersey