New Jersey Roofing License Requirements
Official classification: Home Improvement Contractor Registration (Roofing) · Issued by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect).
🏠 RooferNJ ✔ Verified 2026-09-28
In New Jersey, roofers must hold the Home Improvement Contractor Registration (Roofing), issued by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect), and a $10,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed roofer in New Jersey
Follow these steps to earn your Home Improvement Contractor Registration (Roofing). Every figure is verified against the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. None required for registration. Once licensure takes effect, the 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) requires 2 years of supervised experience in home improvement services or an approved apprenticeship; contractors registered for 5 or more years before January 8, 2024 are exempt from that requirement. It starts six months after the State Board adopts its rules, and none had been adopted as of September 2026.
- Confirm exam requirements. New Jersey sets no state trade exam for this license, though your city or county may require one.
- Secure your surety bond. New Jersey requires $10,000–$50,000 compliance bond, letter of credit or other security, depending on contract value.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: $500,000 per occurrence. Workers' compensation: Required if employees are retained.
- Clear the background check. Not publicly specified for registration. The future license requires a disclosure statement covering criminal convictions.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect) — $110 application fee, plus a Included license fee. Processing time: Varies; registration involves no exam or experience review. The exam-based license timeline has not been published.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Annual.
New Jersey roofer license lookup
To confirm a roofer is properly licensed in New Jersey — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Home Improvement Contractor — Perform roofing and other home improvement work on residential properties
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | None required for registration. Once licensure takes effect, the 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) requires 2 years of supervised experience in home improvement services or an approved apprenticeship; contractors registered for 5 or more years before January 8, 2024 are exempt from that requirement. It starts six months after the State Board adopts its rules, and none had been adopted as of September 2026. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $110 |
| License fee | Included |
| Renewal fee | $90 annually (plus $25 late fee April 1-30) |
| Renewal period | Annual |
| Continuing education | None required for registration. The 2024 law sets 6 hours of Board-approved continuing education per two-year license cycle once licensure takes effect. |
| Bond required | $10,000–$50,000 compliance bond, letter of credit or other security, depending on contract value |
| Liability insurance | $500,000 per occurrence |
| Property damage | — |
| Workers' comp | Required if employees are retained |
| Background check | Not publicly specified for registration. The future license requires a disclosure statement covering criminal convictions. |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | None (registration is not a competency license, so there is nothing to reciprocate) · other states' agreements |
| Processing time | Varies; registration involves no exam or experience review. The exam-based license timeline has not been published. |
What a New Jersey roofer license costs
| Application fee | $110. |
|---|---|
| License fee | Included. |
| Surety bond | $10,000–$50,000 compliance bond, letter of credit or other security, depending on contract value. A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety. |
| Renewal fee | $90 annually (plus $25 late fee April 1-30). |
| Renewal period | Annual. |
Exams
| No examination required for registration (a competency exam is planned for the future license) | Provider: — · Passing: — · Fee: — |
|---|
Renewing a New Jersey roofer license
The Home Improvement Contractor Registration (Roofing) renews on a fixed cycle set by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect). Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Annual |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $90 annually (plus $25 late fee April 1-30) |
| Continuing education | None required for registration. The 2024 law sets 6 hours of Board-approved continuing education per two-year license cycle once licensure takes effect. |
| Where to renew | New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs (the new State Board of Home Improvement and Home Elevation Contractors takes over once licensure takes effect) |
Local / municipal notes
New Jersey does not issue a separate roofer license. Roofers register (not license) as Home Improvement Contractors under the Contractors' Business Registration Act. A 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) creates a future license with a competency exam, experience and continuing education, but it only becomes mandatory six months after the new State Board adopts its rules. As of September 2026 the Board's Laws and Regulations page lists the statute and no adopted rules, so registration is the only program in force. Once licensure starts, contractors registered for 5 or more years before January 8, 2024 are exempt from the experience and education criteria. No municipal-level licensing authority exists statewide, though some municipalities may have local permitting requirements.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a New Jersey roofer license cost?
Application: $110. License: Included. Renewal: $90 annually (plus $25 late fee April 1-30).
How do I look up a roofer license in New Jersey?
Search the official license database at newjersey.mylicense.com. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do roofers in New Jersey need a surety bond?
$10,000–$50,000 compliance bond, letter of credit or other security, depending on contract value
What experience is required for a New Jersey roofer license?
None required for registration. Once licensure takes effect, the 2024 law (P.L. 2023, c. 237) requires 2 years of supervised experience in home improvement services or an approved apprenticeship; contractors registered for 5 or more years before January 8, 2024 are exempt from that requirement. It starts six months after the State Board adopts its rules, and none had been adopted as of September 2026.
Is insurance required for roofers in New Jersey?
Liability: $500,000 per occurrence. Workers' compensation: Required if employees are retained.
How long does it take to get a New Jersey roofer license?
Processing time: Varies; registration involves no exam or experience review. The exam-based license timeline has not been published.
Is a background check required for roofers in New Jersey?
Background check: Not publicly specified for registration. The future license requires a disclosure statement covering criminal convictions.
How often must a New Jersey roofer license be renewed?
Annual. Continuing education: None required for registration. The 2024 law sets 6 hours of Board-approved continuing education per two-year license cycle once licensure takes effect.
Official sources
njconsumeraffairs.gov/hic
njconsumeraffairs.gov/HIHEC
njconsumeraffairs.gov/HIHEC/Pages/regulations.aspx
njconsumeraffairs.gov/Documents/HIC-HEC-Regarding-Changes-To-The-Law-New-Requirements-For-Registration.pdf
servicetitan.com/licensing/roofing/new-jersey
suretybondprofessionals.com/new-jersey-roofing-license
prestigeworksroofing.com/new-jersey-roofing-licensing-changes
coleschotz.com/new-jersey-tightening-the-screws-on-its-home-improvement-contractor-licensing-requirements
brahinlaw.com/nj-new-home-improvement-contractor-licensing-law
mfmclaw.com/new-jersey-passes-new-licensing-requirements-for-contractors
local.yahoo.com/roofing/new-jersey-roofing-regulations-licensing-160100615.html
suretybonds.com/blog/a-guide-to-new-jerseys-updated-home-improvement-contractor-laws
1examprep.com/blogs/news-insight/how-to-pass-the-2026-new-jersey-business-and-law-contractor-exam
servicetitan.com/licensing/contractor/new-jersey
nextinsurance.com/blog/new-jersey-contractor-license-and-insurance-requirements
newjerseylawyersblog.com/new-jersey-passes-draconian-construction-law-imposing-drastic-new-regulations-on-home-improvement-and-home-elevation-contractors
esqnj.com/practice-areas/business-services-practice/lawyers-for-new-jersey-contractors-and-small-businesses/2024-licensing-regulatory-insurance-bonding-and-contract-require