Minnesota Roofing License Requirements
Official classification: Residential Roofer License · Issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI).
🏠 RooferMN ✔ Verified 2026-06-22
In Minnesota, roofers must hold the Residential Roofer License, issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), and a $15,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed roofer in Minnesota
Follow these steps to earn your Residential Roofer License. Every figure is verified against the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. No state-mandated minimum experience required to take the qualifying roofer exam. No prerequisite experience or educational requirements are published by DLI.
- Pass the Qualifying Roofer (QR) Exam exam. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Secure your surety bond. Minnesota requires $15,000 surety bond and power of attorney required; front of bond must be signed and sealed by the surety company; notarized acknowledgments required; surety must be licensed in Minnesota.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Minimum $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate for bodily injury, plus property damage of at least $25,000, or a single limit of $300,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate (Minn. Stat. 326B.86, subd. 2); DLI must be listed as certificate holder. Property damage: Minimum $25,000 (Minn. Stat. 326B.86, subd. 2), or a combined single limit of $300,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate. Workers' compensation: Required unless exempt (sole owner with no employees other than spouse, parent, or child); unemployment insurance compliance also required.
- Clear the background check. Required: Criminal Background Check from Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) for applicant and all owners, partners, and officers
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) — $180 (base application/license fee; flat rate regardless of timing in the license period) application fee, plus a $180; residential roofers are not part of the Contractor Recovery Fund (its "licensee" means residential contractors and remodelers only, Minn. Stat. 326B.89), so no Recovery Fund fee applies license fee. Processing time: Not publicly disclosed by DLI; apply online via iMS portal at dli.mn.gov.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years (Minn. Stat. 326B.885, subd. 2: residential roofer licenses have a two-year renewal period). Continuing education: 14 hours of DLI-approved CE per qualifying person (Q-registration) renewal period; minimum 1 hour on Minnesota Energy Code; minimum 1 hour on business management strategies. Specific CE content for roofers aligns with residential building code and trade-related statutes.
Minnesota roofer license lookup
To confirm a roofer is properly licensed in Minnesota — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Residential Roofer (RR) — Authorizes contracting with homeowners for roofing work (coverings, sheathing, weatherproofing) on residential property. Explicitly excludes gutters, downspouts, soffit, and fascia installation.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | No state-mandated minimum experience required to take the qualifying roofer exam. No prerequisite experience or educational requirements are published by DLI. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $180 (base application/license fee; flat rate regardless of timing in the license period) |
| License fee | $180; residential roofers are not part of the Contractor Recovery Fund (its "licensee" means residential contractors and remodelers only, Minn. Stat. 326B.89), so no Recovery Fund fee applies |
| Renewal fee | $180 license fee every 2 years |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Minn. Stat. 326B.885, subd. 2: residential roofer licenses have a two-year renewal period) |
| Continuing education | 14 hours of DLI-approved CE per qualifying person (Q-registration) renewal period; minimum 1 hour on Minnesota Energy Code; minimum 1 hour on business management strategies. Specific CE content for roofers aligns with residential building code and trade-related statutes. |
| Bond required | $15,000 surety bond and power of attorney required; front of bond must be signed and sealed by the surety company; notarized acknowledgments required; surety must be licensed in Minnesota |
| Liability insurance | Minimum $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate for bodily injury, plus property damage of at least $25,000, or a single limit of $300,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate (Minn. Stat. 326B.86, subd. 2); DLI must be listed as certificate holder |
| Property damage | Minimum $25,000 (Minn. Stat. 326B.86, subd. 2), or a combined single limit of $300,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate |
| Workers' comp | Required unless exempt (sole owner with no employees other than spouse, parent, or child); unemployment insurance compliance also required |
| Background check | Required: Criminal Background Check from Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) for applicant and all owners, partners, and officers |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | None — Minnesota does not recognize other states' roofing licenses for reciprocal licensure. All qualifying persons must pass the Minnesota QR exam. · other states' agreements |
| Processing time | Not publicly disclosed by DLI; apply online via iMS portal at dli.mn.gov |
What a Minnesota roofer license costs
| Application fee | $180 (base application/license fee; flat rate regardless of timing in the license period). |
|---|---|
| License fee | $180; residential roofers are not part of the Contractor Recovery Fund (its "licensee" means residential contractors and remodelers only, Minn. Stat. 326B.89), so no Recovery Fund fee applies. |
| Qualifying Roofer (QR) Exam | $50 (cross-referenced; not shown on the DLI roofer exam page — verify with DLI). |
| Surety bond | $15,000 surety bond and power of attorney required; front of bond must be signed and sealed by the surety company; notarized acknowledgments required; surety must be licensed in Minnesota. A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety. |
| Renewal fee | $180 license fee every 2 years. |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Minn. Stat. 326B.885, subd. 2: residential roofer licenses have a two-year renewal period). |
Exams
| Qualifying Roofer (QR) Exam | Provider: Minnesota DLI (St. Paul office and outstate locations) · Passing: 70% (110 multiple-choice questions; 5.5 hours; open book with DLI-provided Minnesota Residential Code 2020 edition) · Fee: $50 (cross-referenced; not shown on the DLI roofer exam page — verify with DLI) |
|---|
Renewing a Minnesota roofer license
The Residential Roofer License renews on a fixed cycle set by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Minn. Stat. 326B.885, subd. 2: residential roofer licenses have a two-year renewal period) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $180 license fee every 2 years |
| Continuing education | 14 hours of DLI-approved CE per qualifying person (Q-registration) renewal period; minimum 1 hour on Minnesota Energy Code; minimum 1 hour on business management strategies. Specific CE content for roofers aligns with residential building code and trade-related statutes. |
| Where to renew | Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) |
Local / municipal notes
Storm repair contracts must include specific language regarding homeowner insurance claim denials (MN statute requirement). Roofers cannot install gutters, downspouts, soffit, or fascia under the RR license; a separate BC or CR license is required for those items.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Minnesota roofer license cost?
Application: $180 (base application/license fee; flat rate regardless of timing in the license period). License: $180; residential roofers are not part of the Contractor Recovery Fund (its "licensee" means residential contractors and remodelers only, Minn. Stat. 326B.89), so no Recovery Fund fee applies. Renewal: $180 license fee every 2 years.
How do I look up a roofer license in Minnesota?
Search the official license database at dli.mn.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do roofers in Minnesota need a surety bond?
$15,000 surety bond and power of attorney required; front of bond must be signed and sealed by the surety company; notarized acknowledgments required; surety must be licensed in Minnesota
What experience is required for a Minnesota roofer license?
No state-mandated minimum experience required to take the qualifying roofer exam. No prerequisite experience or educational requirements are published by DLI.
Is insurance required for roofers in Minnesota?
Liability: Minimum $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate for bodily injury, plus property damage of at least $25,000, or a single limit of $300,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate (Minn. Stat. 326B.86, subd. 2); DLI must be listed as certificate holder. Property damage: Minimum $25,000 (Minn. Stat. 326B.86, subd. 2), or a combined single limit of $300,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate. Workers' compensation: Required unless exempt (sole owner with no employees other than spouse, parent, or child); unemployment insurance compliance also required.
How long does it take to get a Minnesota roofer license?
Processing time: Not publicly disclosed by DLI; apply online via iMS portal at dli.mn.gov.
Is a background check required for roofers in Minnesota?
Background check: Required: Criminal Background Check from Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) for applicant and all owners, partners, and officers.
How often must a Minnesota roofer license be renewed?
Every 2 years (Minn. Stat. 326B.885, subd. 2: residential roofer licenses have a two-year renewal period). Continuing education: 14 hours of DLI-approved CE per qualifying person (Q-registration) renewal period; minimum 1 hour on Minnesota Energy Code; minimum 1 hour on business management strategies. Specific CE content for roofers aligns with residential building code and trade-related statutes.
Official sources
revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.885
revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.86
revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.89
dli.mn.gov/business/residential-contractors/roofer-license
dli.mn.gov/business/residential-contractors/contractor-roofer-and-remodeler-exams
dli.mn.gov/business/residential-contractors/residential-contractor-licensing
dli.mn.gov/business/residential-contractors/residential-contractor-faqs