Minnesota Electrician License Requirements

Official classification: Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual) · Issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI).

⚡ ElectricianMN ✔ Verified 2026-06-22

In Minnesota, electricians must hold the Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual), issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), and a $25,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.

How to become a licensed electrician in Minnesota

Follow these steps to earn your Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual). Every figure is verified against the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI); full detail for each step is further down the page.

  1. Build the required experience. Electrical contractor license: the designated Responsible Licensed Individual must hold an active Master Electrician license. Master Electrician individual license: 5 years (60 months) of qualifying experience including at least 12 months wiring/installing and at least 2 months each in planning and layout; OR 1 year as licensed journeyworker plus the balance in qualifying work; OR electrical engineering degree from an accredited institution. Journeyworker Electrician: 4 years (48 months) of qualifying experience including at least 24 months wiring for and installing electrical systems; up to 1 year credit for an approved 2-year post-secondary electrical course.
  2. Pass the Journeyworker Electrician Exam and Master Electrician Exam exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
  3. Secure your surety bond. Minnesota requires $25,000 surety bond written by a corporate surety licensed to do business in Minnesota; must be on DLI-approved form.
  4. Check the insurance rules. Liability: Minimum $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate; must cover premises, operations and products, and completed operations; DLI must be listed as certificate holder. Property damage: Minimum $50,000 (included within liability policy). Workers' compensation: Required; proof of compliance submitted on DLI-approved form.
  5. Clear the background check. Not explicitly required by DLI for the electrical contractor business license per published DLI pages (unlike residential contractor licenses, DLI pages do not list a criminal background check form for electrical contractor licensure; verify with DLI if applying).
  6. Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) — $188 (initial application, which also serves as the license fee) application fee, plus a Included in $188 application fee license fee. Processing time: Not publicly disclosed by DLI; apply online via iMS portal at dli.mn.gov.
  7. Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years (contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years; master electrician individual license expires last day of February in odd-numbered years). Continuing education: Individual electrician licenses: 16 hours of DLI-approved CE per renewal period — minimum 12 hours on National Electrical Code (NEC), up to 4 hours on statutes/rules/technical topics. Applies to journeyworker and master licenses. Unlicensed electrician registrations: 2 hours annually. CE for the electrical contractor business license itself is not separately stated by DLI; the RLI's individual license CE fulfills the requirement.

For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →

Minnesota electrician license lookup

To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Minnesota — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Verify a license now: Search the official dli.mn.gov database →

License types

Requirements at a glance

Experience requiredElectrical contractor license: the designated Responsible Licensed Individual must hold an active Master Electrician license. Master Electrician individual license: 5 years (60 months) of qualifying experience including at least 12 months wiring/installing and at least 2 months each in planning and layout; OR 1 year as licensed journeyworker plus the balance in qualifying work; OR electrical engineering degree from an accredited institution. Journeyworker Electrician: 4 years (48 months) of qualifying experience including at least 24 months wiring for and installing electrical systems; up to 1 year credit for an approved 2-year post-secondary electrical course.
Application fee$188 (initial application, which also serves as the license fee)
License feeIncluded in $188 application fee
Renewal fee$188 every two years (electrical contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years)
Renewal periodEvery 2 years (contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years; master electrician individual license expires last day of February in odd-numbered years)
Continuing educationIndividual electrician licenses: 16 hours of DLI-approved CE per renewal period — minimum 12 hours on National Electrical Code (NEC), up to 4 hours on statutes/rules/technical topics. Applies to journeyworker and master licenses. Unlicensed electrician registrations: 2 hours annually. CE for the electrical contractor business license itself is not separately stated by DLI; the RLI's individual license CE fulfills the requirement.
Bond required$25,000 surety bond written by a corporate surety licensed to do business in Minnesota; must be on DLI-approved form
Liability insuranceMinimum $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate; must cover premises, operations and products, and completed operations; DLI must be listed as certificate holder
Property damageMinimum $50,000 (included within liability policy)
Workers' compRequired; proof of compliance submitted on DLI-approved form
Background checkNot explicitly required by DLI for the electrical contractor business license per published DLI pages (unlike residential contractor licenses, DLI pages do not list a criminal background check form for electrical contractor licensure; verify with DLI if applying).
Credit requirementNone
ReciprocityJourneyworker Electrician (individual license only): Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming — exam waived if licensed by exam in those states; Master Electrician (individual license only): Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska — exam waived if licensed by exam in those states; Note: Reciprocity applies to individual electrician licenses, not to the electrical contractor business license · compare all states
Processing timeNot publicly disclosed by DLI; apply online via iMS portal at dli.mn.gov

What a Minnesota electrician license costs

Application fee$188 (initial application, which also serves as the license fee).
License feeIncluded in $188 application fee.
Journeyworker Electrician Exam$50.
Master Electrician Exam$50 (paid before exam scheduling; additional fee after passing for license issuance).
Surety bond$25,000 surety bond written by a corporate surety licensed to do business in Minnesota; must be on DLI-approved form. A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety.
Renewal fee$188 every two years (electrical contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years).
Renewal periodEvery 2 years (contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years; master electrician individual license expires last day of February in odd-numbered years).

Exams

Journeyworker Electrician ExamProvider: Minnesota DLI (administered at DLI St. Paul office, Tues–Thurs) · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by DLI · Fee: $50
Master Electrician ExamProvider: Minnesota DLI (administered at DLI St. Paul office, Tues–Thurs) · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by DLI · Fee: $50 (paid before exam scheduling; additional fee after passing for license issuance)

Renewing a Minnesota electrician license

The Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual) renews on a fixed cycle set by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.

Renewal periodEvery 2 years (contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years; master electrician individual license expires last day of February in odd-numbered years)
Renewal fee$188 every two years (electrical contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years)
Continuing educationIndividual electrician licenses: 16 hours of DLI-approved CE per renewal period — minimum 12 hours on National Electrical Code (NEC), up to 4 hours on statutes/rules/technical topics. Applies to journeyworker and master licenses. Unlicensed electrician registrations: 2 hours annually. CE for the electrical contractor business license itself is not separately stated by DLI; the RLI's individual license CE fulfills the requirement.
Where to renewMinnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)

Renewal period: Every 2 years (contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years; master electrician individual license expires last day of February in odd-numbered years). Your expiry date is printed on your license.

Local / municipal notes

Employees performing electrical work must individually hold a journeyworker electrician license, master electrician license, or be registered with DLI as a Registered Unlicensed Electrician (RE). The RLI cannot simultaneously serve as RLI for any other electrical contractor unless 25%+ common ownership exists.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Minnesota electrician license cost?

Application: $188 (initial application, which also serves as the license fee). License: Included in $188 application fee. Renewal: $188 every two years (electrical contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years).

How do I look up a electrician license in Minnesota?

Search the official license database at dli.mn.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Do electricians in Minnesota need a surety bond?

$25,000 surety bond written by a corporate surety licensed to do business in Minnesota; must be on DLI-approved form

What experience is required for a Minnesota electrician license?

Electrical contractor license: the designated Responsible Licensed Individual must hold an active Master Electrician license. Master Electrician individual license: 5 years (60 months) of qualifying experience including at least 12 months wiring/installing and at least 2 months each in planning and layout; OR 1 year as licensed journeyworker plus the balance in qualifying work; OR electrical engineering degree from an accredited institution. Journeyworker Electrician: 4 years (48 months) of qualifying experience including at least 24 months wiring for and installing electrical systems; up to 1 year credit for an approved 2-year post-secondary electrical course.

Is insurance required for electricians in Minnesota?

Liability: Minimum $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate; must cover premises, operations and products, and completed operations; DLI must be listed as certificate holder. Property damage: Minimum $50,000 (included within liability policy). Workers' compensation: Required; proof of compliance submitted on DLI-approved form.

How long does it take to get a Minnesota electrician license?

Processing time: Not publicly disclosed by DLI; apply online via iMS portal at dli.mn.gov.

Is a background check required for electricians in Minnesota?

Background check: Not explicitly required by DLI for the electrical contractor business license per published DLI pages (unlike residential contractor licenses, DLI pages do not list a criminal background check form for electrical contractor licensure; verify with DLI if applying).

How often must a Minnesota electrician license be renewed?

Every 2 years (contractor license expires last day of February in even-numbered years; master electrician individual license expires last day of February in odd-numbered years). Continuing education: Individual electrician licenses: 16 hours of DLI-approved CE per renewal period — minimum 12 hours on National Electrical Code (NEC), up to 4 hours on statutes/rules/technical topics. Applies to journeyworker and master licenses. Unlicensed electrician registrations: 2 hours annually. CE for the electrical contractor business license itself is not separately stated by DLI; the RLI's individual license CE fulfills the requirement.

Fees and rules change frequently (often annually). This page was last verified on 2026-06-22 — always confirm current requirements directly with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) before applying. This is not legal advice.

Official sources

dli.mn.gov/business/electrical-contractors/electrical-contractor-licensing-basics
dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/electrical-licensing-basics
dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/experience-requirements-electrical-license
dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/electrical-license-reciprocity
dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/continuing-education-electrical

🔧 Plumber
Plumbing Contractor License (with Master Plumber as Responsible Licensed Individual)
❄️ HVAC
Mechanical Contractor Bond Filing (state level) + Local Competency Card (city level)
🏗️ General Contractor
Residential Building Contractor License
🏠 Roofer
Residential Roofer License
Alabama
Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License
Alaska
Certificate of Fitness - Electrician
Arizona
CR-11 / C-11 / R-11 Electrical
Arkansas
Master Electrician / Journeyman Electrician
California
C-10 Electrical Contractor
Colorado
Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman
Connecticut
Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2)
Delaware
Electrician License
Florida
Electrical Contractor (Certified / Registered)
Georgia
Electrical Contractor License (Class I or Class II)
Hawaii
Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification
Idaho
Journeyman Electrician
Illinois
No statewide license — City of Chicago Supervising Electrician License
Indiana
No statewide license — City of Indianapolis Electrical Contractor License
Iowa
Class A Master Electrician / Class A Journeyman Electrician
Kentucky
Electrician License
Louisiana
Electrical classification (statewide, LSLBC)
Maine
Journeyman Electrician
Maryland
Master Electrician / Journeyperson Electrician License
Massachusetts
Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A)
Michigan
Electrical Contractor License (requires qualifying Master Electrician)
Mississippi
Commercial Electrical Contractor (Certificate of Responsibility) / Residential Electrical Contractor
Missouri
Statewide Electrical Contractor License (OSEC) — optional; journeyman/master licenses are issued locally
Montana
Journeyman Electrician
Nebraska
Journeyman Electrician
Nevada
C-2 Electrical Contractor
New Hampshire
Electrician
New Jersey
Electrical Contractor License
New Mexico
EE-98 Residential and Commercial Electrical Wiring Contractor
New York
Master Electrician License; Special Electrician License
North Carolina
Electrical Contractor License (Limited / Intermediate / Unlimited / Special Restricted)
North Dakota
Electrician License
Ohio
Electrical Contractor License
Oklahoma
Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor
Oregon
General Journeyman Electrician (J) — issued by BCD; a separate CCB Electrical Contractor license is required to operate a contracting business
Pennsylvania
No Statewide License; Municipal Licensing System (Philadelphia Electrical Contractor example)
Rhode Island
Electrician License
South Carolina
Mechanical Contractor - Electrical (EL) [commercial]; Residential Specialty Contractor - Electrical [residential]
South Dakota
Apprentice Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Electrical Contractor, Class B Electrician
Tennessee
Contractor License, CE (Electrical) classification
Texas
Journeyman / Master Electrician (TDLR)
Utah
E200 General Electrical Contractor / E201 Residential Electrical Contractor (contractor license); individual Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master Electrician licenses are separate
Vermont
Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Type-S Journeyman Electrician
Virginia
Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Electrical (ELE) specialty; plus individual Electrician Tradesman license (Journeyman/Master)
Washington
Electrician Certificate of Competency (Journey Level / Specialty) + Electrical Contractor License
West Virginia
Electrician
Wisconsin
Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor)
Wyoming
Electrician License