Kentucky Electrician License Requirements
Official classification: Electrician License · Issued by the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC).
⚡ ElectricianKY ✔ Verified 2026-06-26
In Kentucky, electricians must hold the Electrician License, issued by the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed electrician in Kentucky
Follow these steps to earn your Electrician License. Every figure is verified against the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. Electrician: 8,000 hours of verifiable electrical experience since age 16; an approved training course, two years of a four-year apprenticeship, an associate degree or diploma, or two years of teaching can substitute for 4,000 of them. Master Electrician: 16,000 hours since age 16; a training course or two years of teaching substitutes for 4,000 hours and an associate degree or diploma in electrical technology for 6,000 (KRS 227A.060). Electrical Contractor: no personal experience requirement, but a contractor who is not a master electrician must employ one.
- Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: $1,000,000 general liability for the Electrical Contractor license (KRS 227A.060(1)(c)); not required of individual electricians or master electricians. Workers' compensation: Required for Electrical Contractors (proof of compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment insurance laws).
- Clear the background check. The application asks whether the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, and a conviction may bar the license; no fingerprint check.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC) — $100 (Electrician) / $200 (Master Electrician) / $400 (Electrical Contractor) — two-year license fee per DHBC Form EL-3 application fee, plus a Included in the fee above license fee. Processing time: Not publicly disclosed.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years. Continuing education: 6 hours of approved continuing education per year (KRS 227A.100(7)).
For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →
Kentucky electrician license lookup
To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Kentucky — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Journeyman Electrician — Install, repair, and maintain electrical systems; may supervise one apprentice
- Master Electrician — Take responsible charge of and supervise licensed electricians' work; an electrical contractor who is not a master electrician must employ one full-time (KRS 227A.010)
- Electrical Contractor — Operate electrical contracting business; must employ at least one Master Electrician
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | Electrician: 8,000 hours of verifiable electrical experience since age 16; an approved training course, two years of a four-year apprenticeship, an associate degree or diploma, or two years of teaching can substitute for 4,000 of them. Master Electrician: 16,000 hours since age 16; a training course or two years of teaching substitutes for 4,000 hours and an associate degree or diploma in electrical technology for 6,000 (KRS 227A.060). Electrical Contractor: no personal experience requirement, but a contractor who is not a master electrician must employ one. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $100 (Electrician) / $200 (Master Electrician) / $400 (Electrical Contractor) — two-year license fee per DHBC Form EL-3 |
| License fee | Included in the fee above |
| Renewal fee | $100 / $200 / $400 per two-year period (Electrician / Master / Contractor) |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
| Continuing education | 6 hours of approved continuing education per year (KRS 227A.100(7)) |
| Bond required | No bond requirement appears in KRS 227A or 815 KAR 35. |
| Liability insurance | $1,000,000 general liability for the Electrical Contractor license (KRS 227A.060(1)(c)); not required of individual electricians or master electricians |
| Property damage | — |
| Workers' comp | Required for Electrical Contractors (proof of compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment insurance laws) |
| Background check | The application asks whether the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, and a conviction may bar the license; no fingerprint check. |
| Credit requirement | — |
| Reciprocity | Ohio (electrical contractor: issued a Kentucky electrical contractor and master electrician license); Virginia and West Virginia (master or journeyman electrician); Other states case by case, where requirements are substantially equal and Kentucky licensees get the same privileges (KRS 227A.070) · compare all states |
| Processing time | Not publicly disclosed |
What a Kentucky electrician license costs
| Application fee | $100 (Electrician) / $200 (Master Electrician) / $400 (Electrical Contractor) — two-year license fee per DHBC Form EL-3. |
|---|---|
| License fee | Included in the fee above. |
| Journeyman Electrician Exam | Set by the board-approved testing vendor (not published by the board). |
| Master Electrician Exam | Set by the board-approved testing vendor (not published by the board). |
| Business and Law Exam (for the Electrical Contractor license) | Set by the board-approved testing vendor (not published by the board). |
| Surety bond | No bond requirement appears in KRS 227A or 815 KAR 35. |
| Renewal fee | $100 / $200 / $400 per two-year period (Electrician / Master / Contractor). |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years. |
Exams
| Journeyman Electrician Exam | Provider: PROV, NASCLA, or Pearson VUE (board-approved vendor) · Passing: 70% (815 KAR 35:060) · Fee: Set by the board-approved testing vendor (not published by the board) |
|---|---|
| Master Electrician Exam | Provider: PROV, NASCLA, or Pearson VUE · Passing: 70% (815 KAR 35:060) · Fee: Set by the board-approved testing vendor (not published by the board) |
| Business and Law Exam (for the Electrical Contractor license) | Provider: PROV or Pearson VUE · Passing: 70% (815 KAR 35:060) · Fee: Set by the board-approved testing vendor (not published by the board) |
Renewing a Kentucky electrician license
The Electrician License renews on a fixed cycle set by the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $100 / $200 / $400 per two-year period (Electrician / Master / Contractor) |
| Continuing education | 6 hours of approved continuing education per year (KRS 227A.100(7)) |
| Where to renew | Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC) |
Local / municipal notes
Kentucky has statewide licensing: KRS 227A supersedes city and county ordinances regulating electricians, master electricians and electrical contractors (KRS 227A.020(6)), and some older local programs issue the state license as the department's agent. Educational programs available through Kentucky Community and Technical College System accepted toward experience requirements.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Kentucky electrician license cost?
Application: $100 (Electrician) / $200 (Master Electrician) / $400 (Electrical Contractor) — two-year license fee per DHBC Form EL-3. License: Included in the fee above. Renewal: $100 / $200 / $400 per two-year period (Electrician / Master / Contractor).
How do I look up a electrician license in Kentucky?
Search the official license database at dhbc.ky.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do electricians in Kentucky need a surety bond?
No bond requirement appears in KRS 227A or 815 KAR 35.
What experience is required for a Kentucky electrician license?
Electrician: 8,000 hours of verifiable electrical experience since age 16; an approved training course, two years of a four-year apprenticeship, an associate degree or diploma, or two years of teaching can substitute for 4,000 of them. Master Electrician: 16,000 hours since age 16; a training course or two years of teaching substitutes for 4,000 hours and an associate degree or diploma in electrical technology for 6,000 (KRS 227A.060). Electrical Contractor: no personal experience requirement, but a contractor who is not a master electrician must employ one.
Is insurance required for electricians in Kentucky?
Liability: $1,000,000 general liability for the Electrical Contractor license (KRS 227A.060(1)(c)); not required of individual electricians or master electricians. Workers' compensation: Required for Electrical Contractors (proof of compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment insurance laws).
How long does it take to get a Kentucky electrician license?
Processing time: Not publicly disclosed.
Is a background check required for electricians in Kentucky?
Background check: The application asks whether the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, and a conviction may bar the license; no fingerprint check.
How often must a Kentucky electrician license be renewed?
Every 2 years. Continuing education: 6 hours of approved continuing education per year (KRS 227A.100(7)).
Official sources
apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55092
apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55093
apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=10719
apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=10724
apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/815/035/060
dhbc.ky.gov/newstatic_info.aspx?static_id=344
servicetitan.com/licensing/electrician/kentucky
dhbc.ky.gov/documents/DHBC L-1 - new.pdf
dhbc.ky.gov/newstatic_info.aspx?static_id=344
dhbc.ky.gov/new_docs.aspx?cat=150
dhbc.ky.gov/Documents/Form DHBC L-1.pdf