Connecticut Electrician License Requirements

Official classification: Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2) · Issued by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division.

⚡ ElectricianCT ✔ Verified 2026-06-23

In Connecticut, electricians must hold the Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2), issued by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division, and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.

How to become a licensed electrician in Connecticut

Follow these steps to earn your Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2). Every figure is verified against the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division; full detail for each step is further down the page.

  1. Build the required experience. E-2 Journeyperson: completion of a registered apprenticeship program (8,000 hours OJT + 720 classroom hours, per the DCP equivalency chart) OR at least 4 years of equivalent experience and training. E-1 Contractor: 2 years as a licensed E-2 journeyperson OR at least 6 years of equivalent experience and training.
  2. Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
  3. Check the insurance rules. Liability: General liability insurance required as condition of licensure; DCP does not specify a statutory dollar minimum for electrical trade licenses — verify current minimum with DCP. Market standard is $500,000 per occurrence / $1,000,000 aggregate. Property damage: Typically included within general liability policy; no separate state-mandated amount specified by DCP for electrical licenses. Workers' compensation: Required for any business with one or more employees under CGS § 31-284. Sole proprietors with no employees may be exempt but must demonstrate exempt status in writing.
  4. Clear the background check. Applicants must disclose criminal conviction history on the application. DCP evaluates criminal history on a case-by-case basis; a record does not result in automatic disqualification.
  5. Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division — $150 (contractor, non-refundable); $90 (journeyperson, non-refundable); $50 (apprentice registration) application fee, plus a $150 (contractor initial); $120 (journeyperson initial) license fee. Processing time: Approximately 2–4 weeks after complete application is received; allow 2 weeks after application submission before scheduling PSI exam.
  6. Keep the license active. Renewal: Annually – all electrical licenses expire September 30. Continuing education: 4 credit hours per year of DCP-approved continuing education required for license renewal. First-time renewal is exempt. Must be completed annually; records retained at least 4 years.

For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →

Connecticut electrician license lookup

To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Connecticut — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Verify a license now: Search the official elicense.ct.gov database →

License types

Requirements at a glance

Experience requiredE-2 Journeyperson: completion of a registered apprenticeship program (8,000 hours OJT + 720 classroom hours, per the DCP equivalency chart) OR at least 4 years of equivalent experience and training. E-1 Contractor: 2 years as a licensed E-2 journeyperson OR at least 6 years of equivalent experience and training.
Application fee$150 (contractor, non-refundable); $90 (journeyperson, non-refundable); $50 (apprentice registration)
License fee$150 (contractor initial); $120 (journeyperson initial)
Renewal fee$150 (contractor, annual); $120 (journeyperson, annual)
Renewal periodAnnually – all electrical licenses expire September 30
Continuing education4 credit hours per year of DCP-approved continuing education required for license renewal. First-time renewal is exempt. Must be completed annually; records retained at least 4 years.
Bond requiredNo state surety bond required for E-1 or E-2 electrical licenses. (A concurrently held Home Improvement Contractor registration carries no standard bond either; under CGS § 20-426a the DCP commissioner may require a $15,000 bond as a condition of registration, typically as a disciplinary measure.)
Liability insuranceGeneral liability insurance required as condition of licensure; DCP does not specify a statutory dollar minimum for electrical trade licenses — verify current minimum with DCP. Market standard is $500,000 per occurrence / $1,000,000 aggregate.
Property damageTypically included within general liability policy; no separate state-mandated amount specified by DCP for electrical licenses.
Workers' compRequired for any business with one or more employees under CGS § 31-284. Sole proprietors with no employees may be exempt but must demonstrate exempt status in writing.
Background checkApplicants must disclose criminal conviction history on the application. DCP evaluates criminal history on a case-by-case basis; a record does not result in automatic disqualification.
Credit requirementNone
ReciprocityConnecticut does not maintain formal reciprocal license agreements with any other state for electrical licenses. Out-of-state applicants may apply through the equivalent experience pathway if they can prove 720 classroom hours and 8,000 hours OJT (E-2 journeyperson) or 720 classroom hours and 12,000 hours OJT (E-1 contractor). Separately, CGS 20-333a lets the Commissioner grant a license without examination to a currently practicing holder of a similar license from a jurisdiction that grants Connecticut licensees the same without examination. · compare all states
Processing timeApproximately 2–4 weeks after complete application is received; allow 2 weeks after application submission before scheduling PSI exam.

What a Connecticut electrician license costs

Application fee$150 (contractor, non-refundable); $90 (journeyperson, non-refundable); $50 (apprentice registration).
License fee$150 (contractor initial); $120 (journeyperson initial).
E-2 Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson Trade Exam$65 per exam portion.
E-1 Unlimited Electrical Contractor Trade Exam$65 per exam portion.
E-1 Business and Law Exam (contractors only)$65.
Surety bondNo state surety bond required for E-1 or E-2 electrical licenses. (A concurrently held Home Improvement Contractor registration carries no standard bond either; under CGS § 20-426a the DCP commissioner may require a $15,000 bond as a condition of registration, typically as a disciplinary measure.).
Renewal fee$150 (contractor, annual); $120 (journeyperson, annual).
Renewal periodAnnually – all electrical licenses expire September 30.

Exams

E-2 Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson Trade ExamProvider: PSI Exams (contact: 1-800-733-9267) · Passing: 70% · Fee: $65 per exam portion
E-1 Unlimited Electrical Contractor Trade ExamProvider: PSI Exams · Passing: 70% · Fee: $65 per exam portion
E-1 Business and Law Exam (contractors only)Provider: PSI Exams · Passing: 70% · Fee: $65

Renewing a Connecticut electrician license

The Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2) renews on a fixed cycle set by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division. Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.

Renewal periodAnnually – all electrical licenses expire September 30
Renewal fee$150 (contractor, annual); $120 (journeyperson, annual)
Continuing education4 credit hours per year of DCP-approved continuing education required for license renewal. First-time renewal is exempt. Must be completed annually; records retained at least 4 years.
Where to renewConnecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division

Renewal period: Annually – all electrical licenses expire September 30. Your expiry date is printed on your license.

Local / municipal notes

Some municipalities require additional permits or local inspections. Connecticut requires a licensed E-1 contractor to be the contractor of record on all permitted electrical work; E-2 journeypersons cannot pull permits.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Connecticut electrician license cost?

Application: $150 (contractor, non-refundable); $90 (journeyperson, non-refundable); $50 (apprentice registration). License: $150 (contractor initial); $120 (journeyperson initial). Renewal: $150 (contractor, annual); $120 (journeyperson, annual).

How do I look up a electrician license in Connecticut?

Search the official license database at elicense.ct.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Do electricians in Connecticut need a surety bond?

No state surety bond required for E-1 or E-2 electrical licenses. (A concurrently held Home Improvement Contractor registration carries no standard bond either; under CGS § 20-426a the DCP commissioner may require a $15,000 bond as a condition of registration, typically as a disciplinary measure.)

What experience is required for a Connecticut electrician license?

E-2 Journeyperson: completion of a registered apprenticeship program (8,000 hours OJT + 720 classroom hours, per the DCP equivalency chart) OR at least 4 years of equivalent experience and training. E-1 Contractor: 2 years as a licensed E-2 journeyperson OR at least 6 years of equivalent experience and training.

Is insurance required for electricians in Connecticut?

Liability: General liability insurance required as condition of licensure; DCP does not specify a statutory dollar minimum for electrical trade licenses — verify current minimum with DCP. Market standard is $500,000 per occurrence / $1,000,000 aggregate. Property damage: Typically included within general liability policy; no separate state-mandated amount specified by DCP for electrical licenses. Workers' compensation: Required for any business with one or more employees under CGS § 31-284. Sole proprietors with no employees may be exempt but must demonstrate exempt status in writing.

How long does it take to get a Connecticut electrician license?

Processing time: Approximately 2–4 weeks after complete application is received; allow 2 weeks after application submission before scheduling PSI exam.

Is a background check required for electricians in Connecticut?

Background check: Applicants must disclose criminal conviction history on the application. DCP evaluates criminal history on a case-by-case basis; a record does not result in automatic disqualification.

How often must a Connecticut electrician license be renewed?

Annually – all electrical licenses expire September 30. Continuing education: 4 credit hours per year of DCP-approved continuing education required for license renewal. First-time renewal is exempt. Must be completed annually; records retained at least 4 years.

Fees and rules change frequently (often annually). This page was last verified on 2026-06-23 — always confirm current requirements directly with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Occupational and Professional Licensing Division before applying. This is not legal advice.

Official sources

cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_393.htm
portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Electrical-License
portal.ct.gov/dcp/occupational-and-professional-division/occupational--profess/electrical-license-types-and-scope-of-work
portal.ct.gov/DCP/Continuing-Education/Electrician---Continuing-Education
portal.ct.gov/dcp/license-services-division/all-license-applications/electrical-contractor---equivalent-experience-and-training
portal.ct.gov/dcp/license-services-division/all-license-applications/electrical-journeyperson---equivalent-experience-and-training

🔧 Plumber
Unlimited Plumbing Contractor (P-1) / Unlimited Plumbing Journeyperson (P-2)
❄️ HVAC
Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Contractor (S-1) / Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Journeyperson (S-2)
🏗️ General Contractor
New Home Construction Contractor (NHCC) Registration
🏠 Roofer
Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration
🔨 Home Improvement Contractor
Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration
Alabama
Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License
Alaska
Certificate of Fitness - Electrician
Arizona
CR-11 / C-11 / R-11 Electrical
Arkansas
Master Electrician / Journeyman Electrician
California
C-10 Electrical Contractor
Colorado
Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman
Delaware
Electrician License
Florida
Electrical Contractor (Certified / Registered)
Georgia
Electrical Contractor License (Class I or Class II)
Hawaii
Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification
Idaho
Journeyman Electrician
Illinois
No statewide license — City of Chicago Supervising Electrician License
Indiana
No statewide license — City of Indianapolis Electrical Contractor License
Iowa
Class A Master Electrician / Class A Journeyman Electrician
Kentucky
Electrician License
Louisiana
Electrical classification (statewide, LSLBC)
Maine
Journeyman Electrician
Maryland
Master Electrician / Journeyperson Electrician License
Massachusetts
Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A)
Michigan
Electrical Contractor License (requires qualifying Master Electrician)
Minnesota
Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual)
Mississippi
Commercial Electrical Contractor (Certificate of Responsibility) / Residential Electrical Contractor
Missouri
Statewide Electrical Contractor License (OSEC) — optional; journeyman/master licenses are issued locally
Montana
Journeyman Electrician
Nebraska
Journeyman Electrician
Nevada
C-2 Electrical Contractor
New Hampshire
Electrician
New Jersey
Electrical Contractor License
New Mexico
EE-98 Residential and Commercial Electrical Wiring Contractor
New York
Master Electrician License; Special Electrician License
North Carolina
Electrical Contractor License (Limited / Intermediate / Unlimited / Special Restricted)
North Dakota
Electrician License
Ohio
Electrical Contractor License
Oklahoma
Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor
Oregon
General Journeyman Electrician (J) — issued by BCD; a separate CCB Electrical Contractor license is required to operate a contracting business
Pennsylvania
No Statewide License; Municipal Licensing System (Philadelphia Electrical Contractor example)
Rhode Island
Electrician License
South Carolina
Mechanical Contractor - Electrical (EL) [commercial]; Residential Specialty Contractor - Electrical [residential]
South Dakota
Apprentice Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Electrical Contractor, Class B Electrician
Tennessee
Contractor License, CE (Electrical) classification
Texas
Journeyman / Master Electrician (TDLR)
Utah
E200 General Electrical Contractor / E201 Residential Electrical Contractor (contractor license); individual Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master Electrician licenses are separate
Vermont
Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Type-S Journeyman Electrician
Virginia
Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Electrical (ELE) specialty; plus individual Electrician Tradesman license (Journeyman/Master)
Washington
Electrician Certificate of Competency (Journey Level / Specialty) + Electrical Contractor License
West Virginia
Electrician
Wisconsin
Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor)
Wyoming
Electrician License