Wisconsin Electrician License Requirements
Official classification: Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor) · Issued by the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).
⚡ ElectricianWI ✔ Verified 2026-06-24
In Wisconsin, electricians must hold the Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor), issued by the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS), and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed electrician in Wisconsin
Follow these steps to earn your Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor). Every figure is verified against the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. Journeyman: a construction electrician apprenticeship of at least 3 years approved by the U.S. or Wisconsin labor department, or at least 8,000 hours of experience over not less than 48 months (a 2-year electrical-related degree or diploma counts as 12 months and 2,000 hours) (SPS 305.44(3)). Master: 12+ months as a licensed journeyman, or 10,000 hours over 60 months, or an electrical-engineering degree.
- Pass the Journeyman Electrician Exam and Master Electrician Exam exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: No state-mandated general-liability minimum for the electrician license (local jurisdictions may require coverage). Property damage: Not specified at the state level. Workers' compensation: Required for Electrical Contractor applicants and for any employer under Wisconsin law.
- Clear the background check. Criminal-history disclosure required (DSPS Form 2255 for trades convictions and pending charges); no automatic disqualification.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) — $15 (Registered/Apprentice); $35 (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor) application fee, plus a Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (4-year) license fee. Processing time: Processed through the DSPS LicensE portal after document review.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 4 years (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor); expires June 30. Continuing education: Journeyman and Master Electrician: 24 hours per 4-year cycle. Residential Master, Residential Journeyman and Industrial Journeyman Electrician: 18 hours per 4-year cycle. Registered Electrician: 24 hours per 1-year cycle.
For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →
Wisconsin electrician license lookup
To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Wisconsin — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Registered Electrician — Entry level; works under the direct supervision of a licensed master or journeyman (no exam).
- Journeyman Electrician — Works under the general supervision of a master; may supervise apprentices and registered electricians.
- Master Electrician — Responsible for electrical installations; supervises journeymen and pulls permits.
- Residential Master Electrician — Supervises residential electrical work on one- and two-family dwellings.
- Electrical Contractor — Business-entity license; held by an owner, partner, or executive of the contracting business.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | Journeyman: a construction electrician apprenticeship of at least 3 years approved by the U.S. or Wisconsin labor department, or at least 8,000 hours of experience over not less than 48 months (a 2-year electrical-related degree or diploma counts as 12 months and 2,000 hours) (SPS 305.44(3)). Master: 12+ months as a licensed journeyman, or 10,000 hours over 60 months, or an electrical-engineering degree. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $15 (Registered/Apprentice); $35 (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor) |
| License fee | Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (4-year) |
| Renewal fee | Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (every 4 years) |
| Renewal period | Every 4 years (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor); expires June 30 |
| Continuing education | Journeyman and Master Electrician: 24 hours per 4-year cycle. Residential Master, Residential Journeyman and Industrial Journeyman Electrician: 18 hours per 4-year cycle. Registered Electrician: 24 hours per 1-year cycle. |
| Bond required | No state surety bond is required for an electrician license. Electrical Contractors must carry workers' compensation and unemployment insurance. |
| Liability insurance | No state-mandated general-liability minimum for the electrician license (local jurisdictions may require coverage) |
| Property damage | Not specified at the state level |
| Workers' comp | Required for Electrical Contractor applicants and for any employer under Wisconsin law |
| Background check | Criminal-history disclosure required (DSPS Form 2255 for trades convictions and pending charges); no automatic disqualification. |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | Iowa (Journeyman and Master); New Hampshire (Journeyman) — license held 1+ year and earned by state exam; no Wisconsin exam required · compare all states |
| Processing time | Processed through the DSPS LicensE portal after document review. |
What a Wisconsin electrician license costs
| Application fee | $15 (Registered/Apprentice); $35 (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor). |
|---|---|
| License fee | Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (4-year). |
| Journeyman Electrician Exam | $30 (DSPS) or $95 (Pearson VUE); open book. |
| Master Electrician Exam | $30 (DSPS) or $95 (Pearson VUE); open book. |
| Surety bond | No state surety bond is required for an electrician license. Electrical Contractors must carry workers' compensation and unemployment insurance. |
| Renewal fee | Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (every 4 years). |
| Renewal period | Every 4 years (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor); expires June 30. |
Exams
| Journeyman Electrician Exam | Provider: Wisconsin DSPS or Pearson VUE · Passing: 70% · Fee: $30 (DSPS) or $95 (Pearson VUE); open book |
|---|---|
| Master Electrician Exam | Provider: Wisconsin DSPS or Pearson VUE · Passing: 70% · Fee: $30 (DSPS) or $95 (Pearson VUE); open book |
Renewing a Wisconsin electrician license
The Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor) renews on a fixed cycle set by the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 4 years (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor); expires June 30 |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (every 4 years) |
| Continuing education | Journeyman and Master Electrician: 24 hours per 4-year cycle. Residential Master, Residential Journeyman and Industrial Journeyman Electrician: 18 hours per 4-year cycle. Registered Electrician: 24 hours per 1-year cycle. |
| Where to renew | Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) |
Local / municipal notes
A statewide license is required to perform electrical work anywhere in Wisconsin; some municipalities add local permit requirements. From October 1, 2026, exams cover the 2023 NEC and Wis. Admin. Code ch. SPS 316 (previously the 2017 NEC).
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Wisconsin electrician license cost?
Application: $15 (Registered/Apprentice); $35 (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor). License: Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (4-year). Renewal: Journeyman $100; Master $200; Electrical Contractor $200 (every 4 years).
How do I look up a electrician license in Wisconsin?
Search the official license database at license.wi.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do electricians in Wisconsin need a surety bond?
No state surety bond is required for an electrician license. Electrical Contractors must carry workers' compensation and unemployment insurance.
What experience is required for a Wisconsin electrician license?
Journeyman: a construction electrician apprenticeship of at least 3 years approved by the U.S. or Wisconsin labor department, or at least 8,000 hours of experience over not less than 48 months (a 2-year electrical-related degree or diploma counts as 12 months and 2,000 hours) (SPS 305.44(3)). Master: 12+ months as a licensed journeyman, or 10,000 hours over 60 months, or an electrical-engineering degree.
Is insurance required for electricians in Wisconsin?
Liability: No state-mandated general-liability minimum for the electrician license (local jurisdictions may require coverage). Property damage: Not specified at the state level. Workers' compensation: Required for Electrical Contractor applicants and for any employer under Wisconsin law.
How long does it take to get a Wisconsin electrician license?
Processing time: Processed through the DSPS LicensE portal after document review.
Is a background check required for electricians in Wisconsin?
Background check: Criminal-history disclosure required (DSPS Form 2255 for trades convictions and pending charges); no automatic disqualification.
How often must a Wisconsin electrician license be renewed?
Every 4 years (Journeyman, Master, Electrical Contractor); expires June 30. Continuing education: Journeyman and Master Electrician: 24 hours per 4-year cycle. Residential Master, Residential Journeyman and Industrial Journeyman Electrician: 18 hours per 4-year cycle. Registered Electrician: 24 hours per 1-year cycle.
Official sources
dsps.wi.gov/credentialing/trades-exam-information-and-fee-schedule
docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/SPS 305.44
dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/MasterElectrician/Default.aspx
dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/TradesExaminationInformation.aspx
docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/sps/safety_and_buildings_and_environment/301_319/305/IV/435/2
dsps.wi.gov/Credentialing/Trades/fm3106.pdf