Colorado Electrician License Requirements

Official classification: Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman · Issued by the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA).

⚡ ElectricianCO ✔ Verified 2026-06-26

In Colorado, electricians must hold the Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman, issued by the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.

How to become a licensed electrician in Colorado

Follow these steps to earn your Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman. Every figure is verified against the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA); full detail for each step is further down the page.

  1. Build the required experience. Residential Wireman: 4,000 hours (minimum 2 years) of residential-only practical experience. Journeyman Electrician: 8,000 hours (minimum 4 years) of electrical work experience with 4,000 hours in commercial/industrial work, or 2-year degree plus 6,000 hours supervised work; 288 hours of classroom education are required of all applicants (no grandfathering). Master Electrician: One of three paths—engineering degree plus 2,000 hours experience; trade school/community college degree plus 8,000 hours; or 10,000 hours in no less than 5 years; or 2,000 hours in at least 1 year beyond the journeyman requirements, including planning, layout and supervision (C.R.S. 12-115-110(1)).
  2. Pass the Journeyman Electrician Exam and Master Electrician Exam exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
  3. Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not mandated by the state for the electrician license; some municipalities require it locally. Workers' compensation: Required for contractors with employees.
  4. Clear the background check. Criminal history questions included in application; specific disqualifying criteria not publicly disclosed
  5. Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) — Set by DORA and paid through DORA Online Services; amount varies by license tier (statutory authority C.R.S. 12-115-117) application fee, plus a Included in the application license fee. Processing time: Not publicly disclosed.
  6. Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 3 years (expires September 30). Continuing education: 24 hours of continuing education per 3-year cycle — at least 4 hours on National Electrical Code changes and no more than 4 hours on safety. Waived for the first renewal if a licensing exam was passed as a condition of issuance.

For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →

Colorado electrician license lookup

To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Colorado — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Verify a license now: Search the official apps2.colorado.gov database →

License types

Requirements at a glance

Experience requiredResidential Wireman: 4,000 hours (minimum 2 years) of residential-only practical experience. Journeyman Electrician: 8,000 hours (minimum 4 years) of electrical work experience with 4,000 hours in commercial/industrial work, or 2-year degree plus 6,000 hours supervised work; 288 hours of classroom education are required of all applicants (no grandfathering). Master Electrician: One of three paths—engineering degree plus 2,000 hours experience; trade school/community college degree plus 8,000 hours; or 10,000 hours in no less than 5 years; or 2,000 hours in at least 1 year beyond the journeyman requirements, including planning, layout and supervision (C.R.S. 12-115-110(1)).
Application feeSet by DORA and paid through DORA Online Services; amount varies by license tier (statutory authority C.R.S. 12-115-117)
License feeIncluded in the application
Renewal feePaid every 3 years through DORA Online Services; fee set on the DORA schedule
Renewal periodEvery 3 years (expires September 30)
Continuing education24 hours of continuing education per 3-year cycle — at least 4 hours on National Electrical Code changes and no more than 4 hours on safety. Waived for the first renewal if a licensing exam was passed as a condition of issuance.
Bond requiredNone required by the state — Colorado does not mandate a state electrician or contractor bond. Municipalities (e.g., Denver, Colorado Springs, Boulder) require their own local registration and surety bond.
Liability insuranceNot mandated by the state for the electrician license; some municipalities require it locally.
Property damage—
Workers' compRequired for contractors with employees
Background checkCriminal history questions included in application; specific disqualifying criteria not publicly disclosed
Credit requirementNone
ReciprocityAlaska; Arkansas; Idaho; Iowa; Minnesota; Montana; Nebraska; New Hampshire; New Mexico; North Dakota; Oklahoma; South Dakota; Utah; Wyoming · compare all states
Processing timeNot publicly disclosed

What a Colorado electrician license costs

Application feeSet by DORA and paid through DORA Online Services; amount varies by license tier (statutory authority C.R.S. 12-115-117).
License feeIncluded in the application.
Journeyman Electrician Exam$75.
Master Electrician Exam$75.
Surety bondNone required by the state — Colorado does not mandate a state electrician or contractor bond. Municipalities (e.g., Denver, Colorado Springs, Boulder) require their own local registration and surety bond.
Renewal feePaid every 3 years through DORA Online Services; fee set on the DORA schedule.
Renewal periodEvery 3 years (expires September 30).

Exams

Journeyman Electrician ExamProvider: PSI · Passing: 70% · Fee: $75
Master Electrician ExamProvider: PSI · Passing: 70% · Fee: $75

Renewing a Colorado electrician license

The Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman renews on a fixed cycle set by the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.

Renewal periodEvery 3 years (expires September 30)
Renewal feePaid every 3 years through DORA Online Services; fee set on the DORA schedule
Continuing education24 hours of continuing education per 3-year cycle — at least 4 hours on National Electrical Code changes and no more than 4 hours on safety. Waived for the first renewal if a licensing exam was passed as a condition of issuance.
Where to renewColorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA)

Renewal period: Every 3 years (expires September 30). Your expiry date is printed on your license.

Local / municipal notes

Colorado licenses electricians statewide through DORA's Division of Professions and Occupations, but the state does not require a bond or insurance for the license itself. Municipalities (Denver, Boulder, Colorado Springs, Fort Collins) impose additional local registration, bonding and insurance; Denver does not accept other jurisdictions' licenses and requires separate municipal licensing.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Colorado electrician license cost?

Application: Set by DORA and paid through DORA Online Services; amount varies by license tier (statutory authority C.R.S. 12-115-117). License: Included in the application. Renewal: Paid every 3 years through DORA Online Services; fee set on the DORA schedule.

How do I look up a electrician license in Colorado?

Search the official license database at apps2.colorado.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Do electricians in Colorado need a surety bond?

None required by the state — Colorado does not mandate a state electrician or contractor bond. Municipalities (e.g., Denver, Colorado Springs, Boulder) require their own local registration and surety bond.

What experience is required for a Colorado electrician license?

Residential Wireman: 4,000 hours (minimum 2 years) of residential-only practical experience. Journeyman Electrician: 8,000 hours (minimum 4 years) of electrical work experience with 4,000 hours in commercial/industrial work, or 2-year degree plus 6,000 hours supervised work; 288 hours of classroom education are required of all applicants (no grandfathering). Master Electrician: One of three paths—engineering degree plus 2,000 hours experience; trade school/community college degree plus 8,000 hours; or 10,000 hours in no less than 5 years; or 2,000 hours in at least 1 year beyond the journeyman requirements, including planning, layout and supervision (C.R.S. 12-115-110(1)).

Is insurance required for electricians in Colorado?

Liability: Not mandated by the state for the electrician license; some municipalities require it locally. Workers' compensation: Required for contractors with employees.

How long does it take to get a Colorado electrician license?

Processing time: Not publicly disclosed.

Is a background check required for electricians in Colorado?

Background check: Criminal history questions included in application; specific disqualifying criteria not publicly disclosed.

How often must a Colorado electrician license be renewed?

Every 3 years (expires September 30). Continuing education: 24 hours of continuing education per 3-year cycle — at least 4 hours on National Electrical Code changes and no more than 4 hours on safety. Waived for the first renewal if a licensing exam was passed as a condition of issuance.

Fees and rules change frequently (often annually). This page was last verified on 2026-06-26 — always confirm current requirements directly with the Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) before applying. This is not legal advice.

Official sources

dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical/Applications
dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical
dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical/CE
dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical/LicensingServices
law.cornell.edu/regulations/colorado/3-CCR-710-1.13

🔧 Plumber
Residential Plumber; Journeyworker Plumber; Master Plumber
Alabama
Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License
Alaska
Certificate of Fitness - Electrician
Arizona
CR-11 / C-11 / R-11 Electrical
Arkansas
Master Electrician / Journeyman Electrician
California
C-10 Electrical Contractor
Connecticut
Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2)
Delaware
Electrician License
Florida
Electrical Contractor (Certified / Registered)
Georgia
Electrical Contractor License (Class I or Class II)
Hawaii
Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification
Idaho
Journeyman Electrician
Illinois
No statewide license — City of Chicago Supervising Electrician License
Indiana
No statewide license — City of Indianapolis Electrical Contractor License
Iowa
Class A Master Electrician / Class A Journeyman Electrician
Kentucky
Electrician License
Louisiana
Electrical classification (statewide, LSLBC)
Maine
Journeyman Electrician
Maryland
Master Electrician / Journeyperson Electrician License
Massachusetts
Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A)
Michigan
Electrical Contractor License (requires qualifying Master Electrician)
Minnesota
Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual)
Mississippi
Commercial Electrical Contractor (Certificate of Responsibility) / Residential Electrical Contractor
Missouri
Statewide Electrical Contractor License (OSEC) — optional; journeyman/master licenses are issued locally
Montana
Journeyman Electrician
Nebraska
Journeyman Electrician
Nevada
C-2 Electrical Contractor
New Hampshire
Electrician
New Jersey
Electrical Contractor License
New Mexico
EE-98 Residential and Commercial Electrical Wiring Contractor
New York
Master Electrician License; Special Electrician License
North Carolina
Electrical Contractor License (Limited / Intermediate / Unlimited / Special Restricted)
North Dakota
Electrician License
Ohio
Electrical Contractor License
Oklahoma
Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor
Oregon
General Journeyman Electrician (J) — issued by BCD; a separate CCB Electrical Contractor license is required to operate a contracting business
Pennsylvania
No Statewide License; Municipal Licensing System (Philadelphia Electrical Contractor example)
Rhode Island
Electrician License
South Carolina
Mechanical Contractor - Electrical (EL) [commercial]; Residential Specialty Contractor - Electrical [residential]
South Dakota
Apprentice Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Electrical Contractor, Class B Electrician
Tennessee
Contractor License, CE (Electrical) classification
Texas
Journeyman / Master Electrician (TDLR)
Utah
E200 General Electrical Contractor / E201 Residential Electrical Contractor (contractor license); individual Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master Electrician licenses are separate
Vermont
Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Type-S Journeyman Electrician
Virginia
Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Electrical (ELE) specialty; plus individual Electrician Tradesman license (Journeyman/Master)
Washington
Electrician Certificate of Competency (Journey Level / Specialty) + Electrical Contractor License
West Virginia
Electrician
Wisconsin
Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor)
Wyoming
Electrician License