Oklahoma Electrician License Requirements
Official classification: Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor · Issued by the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.
⚡ ElectricianOK ✔ Verified 2026-06-26
In Oklahoma, electricians must hold the Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor, issued by the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board, and a $5,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed electrician in Oklahoma
Follow these steps to earn your Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor. Every figure is verified against the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board; full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. Unlimited Journeyman: 8,000 verifiable hours (minimum 4,000 commercial/industrial). Residential Journeyman: 4,000 verifiable hours. Up to 2,000 hours (Unlimited) or 1,000 hours (Residential) may substitute through formal electrical education with verified transcript. Unlimited Contractor: 12,000 hours (at least 6,000 commercial/industrial) plus 2 years as a licensed unlimited journeyman. Residential Contractor: a passed journeyman exam plus 2 years as a licensed journeyman with 4,000 hours under a contractor. Limited Contractor: an electrical engineering degree plus 8,000 hours of field, estimating or project-management experience, or 16,000 hours in commercial/industrial work (OAC 158:40-7-1, 7-2, 7-4).
- Pass the Oklahoma Electrical Trade Exam (Journeyman or Contractor) and Electrical Business and Law Exam exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Secure your surety bond. Oklahoma requires $5,000 corporate surety bond payable to the OK Construction Industries Board (contractors; waiver by affidavit).
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: General liability insurance required for contractors (certificate of insurance filed with the board). Workers' compensation: Required for electrical contractors (Okla. Title 85/85A); exemption affidavit accepted.
- Clear the background check. Criminal history check required for Alarm Endorsement; otherwise not specified in standard licensing requirements
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board — Apprentice $25 ($20 registration + $5 application); Journeyman $75 ($50 license + $25 processing); Contractor $330 ($300 license + $30 processing). Per the OK CIB electrical application. application fee, plus a Included in the totals above license fee. Processing time: Reciprocity applications: 30+ days typical.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Annual. Continuing education: 12 hours every 3 years (36 months) for journeymen and contractors, in courses approved in advance; licensees are exempt for 3 years after passing their current licensing exam. Since January 1, 2026 apprentices need 3 hours a year to re-register (OAC 158:40-9-4).
For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →
Oklahoma electrician license lookup
To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Oklahoma — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Registered Apprentice — Work under supervision of licensed journeyman or contractor on electrical installations
- Unlimited Electrical Journeyman — Perform electrical work on all types of installations (commercial, industrial, residential)
- Residential Electrical Journeyman — Perform electrical work on residential installations only
- Unlimited Electrical Contractor — Operate an electrical contracting business and supervise employees on all types of installations
- Residential Electrical Contractor — Operate an electrical contracting business on residential installations only
- Limited Electrical Contractor — Bidding, estimating and project management only; prohibited from journeyman work and from performing or supervising field work (OAC 158:40-7-4)
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | Unlimited Journeyman: 8,000 verifiable hours (minimum 4,000 commercial/industrial). Residential Journeyman: 4,000 verifiable hours. Up to 2,000 hours (Unlimited) or 1,000 hours (Residential) may substitute through formal electrical education with verified transcript. Unlimited Contractor: 12,000 hours (at least 6,000 commercial/industrial) plus 2 years as a licensed unlimited journeyman. Residential Contractor: a passed journeyman exam plus 2 years as a licensed journeyman with 4,000 hours under a contractor. Limited Contractor: an electrical engineering degree plus 8,000 hours of field, estimating or project-management experience, or 16,000 hours in commercial/industrial work (OAC 158:40-7-1, 7-2, 7-4). |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Apprentice $25 ($20 registration + $5 application); Journeyman $75 ($50 license + $25 processing); Contractor $330 ($300 license + $30 processing). Per the OK CIB electrical application. |
| License fee | Included in the totals above |
| Renewal fee | Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late); Apprentice $20. Optional $25 alarm-endorsement renewal (electrical). Per the OK CIB renewal form. |
| Renewal period | Annual |
| Continuing education | 12 hours every 3 years (36 months) for journeymen and contractors, in courses approved in advance; licensees are exempt for 3 years after passing their current licensing exam. Since January 1, 2026 apprentices need 3 hours a year to re-register (OAC 158:40-9-4). |
| Bond required | $5,000 corporate surety bond payable to the OK Construction Industries Board (contractors; waiver by affidavit). |
| Liability insurance | General liability insurance required for contractors (certificate of insurance filed with the board). |
| Property damage | — |
| Workers' comp | Required for electrical contractors (Okla. Title 85/85A); exemption affidavit accepted. |
| Background check | Criminal history check required for Alarm Endorsement; otherwise not specified in standard licensing requirements |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | Alaska; Arkansas; Colorado; Idaho; Iowa; Montana; Nebraska; South Dakota; Texas; Wyoming · compare all states |
| Processing time | Reciprocity applications: 30+ days typical |
What an Oklahoma electrician license costs
| Application fee | Apprentice $25 ($20 registration + $5 application); Journeyman $75 ($50 license + $25 processing); Contractor $330 ($300 license + $30 processing). Per the OK CIB electrical application. |
|---|---|
| License fee | Included in the totals above. |
| Oklahoma Electrical Trade Exam (Journeyman or Contractor) | $92 per examination portion. |
| Electrical Business and Law Exam | $92 per examination portion. |
| Surety bond | $5,000 corporate surety bond payable to the OK Construction Industries Board (contractors; waiver by affidavit). A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety. |
| Renewal fee | Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late); Apprentice $20. Optional $25 alarm-endorsement renewal (electrical). Per the OK CIB renewal form. |
| Renewal period | Annual. |
Exams
| Oklahoma Electrical Trade Exam (Journeyman or Contractor) | Provider: PSI · Passing: 70% · Fee: $92 per examination portion |
|---|---|
| Electrical Business and Law Exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: 70% · Fee: $92 per examination portion |
Renewing an Oklahoma electrician license
The Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor renews on a fixed cycle set by the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board. Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Annual |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late); Apprentice $20. Optional $25 alarm-endorsement renewal (electrical). Per the OK CIB renewal form. |
| Continuing education | 12 hours every 3 years (36 months) for journeymen and contractors, in courses approved in advance; licensees are exempt for 3 years after passing their current licensing exam. Since January 1, 2026 apprentices need 3 hours a year to re-register (OAC 158:40-9-4). |
| Where to renew | Oklahoma Construction Industries Board |
Local / municipal notes
Oklahoma licenses electricians statewide through the Construction Industries Board (CIB). Apprentice cards and licenses are issued for one year and renew annually; fees are set in OAC Title 158.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Oklahoma electrician license cost?
Application: Apprentice $25 ($20 registration + $5 application); Journeyman $75 ($50 license + $25 processing); Contractor $330 ($300 license + $30 processing). Per the OK CIB electrical application. License: Included in the totals above. Renewal: Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late); Apprentice $20. Optional $25 alarm-endorsement renewal (electrical). Per the OK CIB renewal form.
How do I look up a electrician license in Oklahoma?
Search the official license database at okcibv7prod.glsuite.us. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do electricians in Oklahoma need a surety bond?
$5,000 corporate surety bond payable to the OK Construction Industries Board (contractors; waiver by affidavit).
What experience is required for an Oklahoma electrician license?
Unlimited Journeyman: 8,000 verifiable hours (minimum 4,000 commercial/industrial). Residential Journeyman: 4,000 verifiable hours. Up to 2,000 hours (Unlimited) or 1,000 hours (Residential) may substitute through formal electrical education with verified transcript. Unlimited Contractor: 12,000 hours (at least 6,000 commercial/industrial) plus 2 years as a licensed unlimited journeyman. Residential Contractor: a passed journeyman exam plus 2 years as a licensed journeyman with 4,000 hours under a contractor. Limited Contractor: an electrical engineering degree plus 8,000 hours of field, estimating or project-management experience, or 16,000 hours in commercial/industrial work (OAC 158:40-7-1, 7-2, 7-4).
Is insurance required for electricians in Oklahoma?
Liability: General liability insurance required for contractors (certificate of insurance filed with the board). Workers' compensation: Required for electrical contractors (Okla. Title 85/85A); exemption affidavit accepted.
How long does it take to get an Oklahoma electrician license?
Processing time: Reciprocity applications: 30+ days typical.
Is a background check required for electricians in Oklahoma?
Background check: Criminal history check required for Alarm Endorsement; otherwise not specified in standard licensing requirements.
How often must an Oklahoma electrician license be renewed?
Annual. Continuing education: 12 hours every 3 years (36 months) for journeymen and contractors, in courses approved in advance; licensees are exempt for 3 years after passing their current licensing exam. Since January 1, 2026 apprentices need 3 hours a year to re-register (OAC 158:40-9-4).
Official sources
oklahoma.gov/cib/rules-and-laws.html
oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/electrical.html
oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/electrical/electrical-journeyman.html
oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/electrical/electrical-contractor.html
oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/electrical/guidelines-for-electrical-license-through-reciprocity.html