Massachusetts Electrician License Requirements
Official classification: Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A) · Issued by the Board of State Examiners of Electricians (Division of Occupational Licensure).
⚡ ElectricianMA ✔ Verified 2026-10-01
In Massachusetts, electricians must hold the Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A), issued by the Board of State Examiners of Electricians (Division of Occupational Licensure), and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed electrician in Massachusetts
Follow these steps to earn your Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A). Every figure is verified against the Board of State Examiners of Electricians (Division of Occupational Licensure); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. Journeyman: 8,000 hours over 4+ years under a licensed MA journeyman/master, plus 600 hours of board-approved education and a high-school diploma. Master: hold a MA journeyman license 1+ year, plus 150 hours of master-level education (incl. a 15-hour code-update class).
- Pass the Journeyman Electrician Exam (theory + applied) and Master Electrician Exam (theory + business & law) exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not a statutory condition of the individual license. An LLC or LLP licensed to provide electrical services must carry professional liability insurance of at least $50,000 per claim, or $150,000 in the aggregate, multiplied by the number of individual licensees it employs or who are its officers or partners (237 CMR 23.01). Property damage: Not separately specified by statute. Workers' compensation: Mandatory for any employer (M.G.L. c. 152).
- Clear the background check. CORI (Criminal Offender Record Information) check required; submit a notarized CORI authorization form.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Board of State Examiners of Electricians (Division of Occupational Licensure) — Journeyman/Systems Technician $31; Master/Systems Contractor $66 (non-refundable) application fee, plus a Journeyman/Systems Technician $104; Master/Systems Contractor $155 (paid once approved for licensure) license fee. Processing time: Filed online via PSI / the DOL eLIPSE portal.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 3 years (expires July 31). Continuing education: 21 hours per 3-year cycle: 15 hours of Massachusetts Electrical Code update + 6 hours of professional development (237 CMR 17.00).
For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →
Massachusetts electrician license lookup
To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Massachusetts — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Journeyman Electrician (Class B) — Installs/repairs electrical wiring under a licensed master's permit.
- Master Electrician (Class A) — Designs, installs, and supervises all-voltage systems; may run an electrical contracting business.
- Systems Technician (Class D) — Installs low-voltage systems (alarms, data, security) under a systems contractor's permit.
- Systems Contractor (Class C) — Runs a low-voltage (Class 2) contracting business.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | Journeyman: 8,000 hours over 4+ years under a licensed MA journeyman/master, plus 600 hours of board-approved education and a high-school diploma. Master: hold a MA journeyman license 1+ year, plus 150 hours of master-level education (incl. a 15-hour code-update class). |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Journeyman/Systems Technician $31; Master/Systems Contractor $66 (non-refundable) |
| License fee | Journeyman/Systems Technician $104; Master/Systems Contractor $155 (paid once approved for licensure) |
| Renewal fee | Journeyman (Class B) $78; Master (Class A) $117 (every 3 years; per the DPL fee schedule) |
| Renewal period | Every 3 years (expires July 31) |
| Continuing education | 21 hours per 3-year cycle: 15 hours of Massachusetts Electrical Code update + 6 hours of professional development (237 CMR 17.00). |
| Bond required | No state surety bond is required for an electrician license. |
| Liability insurance | Not a statutory condition of the individual license. An LLC or LLP licensed to provide electrical services must carry professional liability insurance of at least $50,000 per claim, or $150,000 in the aggregate, multiplied by the number of individual licensees it employs or who are its officers or partners (237 CMR 23.01). |
| Property damage | Not separately specified by statute |
| Workers' comp | Mandatory for any employer (M.G.L. c. 152) |
| Background check | CORI (Criminal Offender Record Information) check required; submit a notarized CORI authorization form. |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | New Hampshire only (Journeyman and Master), and only if the NH license was earned by passing the NH exam (not by endorsement). · compare all states |
| Processing time | Filed online via PSI / the DOL eLIPSE portal. |
What a Massachusetts electrician license costs
| Application fee | Journeyman/Systems Technician $31; Master/Systems Contractor $66 (non-refundable). |
|---|---|
| License fee | Journeyman/Systems Technician $104; Master/Systems Contractor $155 (paid once approved for licensure). |
| Journeyman Electrician Exam (theory + applied) | $135 total ($80 Trade portion + $55 Business/Practical portion), paid to PSI. |
| Master Electrician Exam (theory + business & law) | $135 total ($80 Trade portion + $55 Business/Practical portion), paid to PSI. |
| Surety bond | No state surety bond is required for an electrician license. |
| Renewal fee | Journeyman (Class B) $78; Master (Class A) $117 (every 3 years; per the DPL fee schedule). |
| Renewal period | Every 3 years (expires July 31). |
Exams
| Journeyman Electrician Exam (theory + applied) | Provider: PSI Services · Passing: 70% on both parts · Fee: $135 total ($80 Trade portion + $55 Business/Practical portion), paid to PSI |
|---|---|
| Master Electrician Exam (theory + business & law) | Provider: PSI Services · Passing: 70% on both parts · Fee: $135 total ($80 Trade portion + $55 Business/Practical portion), paid to PSI |
Renewing a Massachusetts electrician license
The Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A) renews on a fixed cycle set by the Board of State Examiners of Electricians (Division of Occupational Licensure). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 3 years (expires July 31) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | Journeyman (Class B) $78; Master (Class A) $117 (every 3 years; per the DPL fee schedule) |
| Continuing education | 21 hours per 3-year cycle: 15 hours of Massachusetts Electrical Code update + 6 hours of professional development (237 CMR 17.00). |
| Where to renew | Board of State Examiners of Electricians (Division of Occupational Licensure) |
Local / municipal notes
Statewide license issued by the Board of State Examiners of Electricians; apprentices are not registered by the board but work under supervision to accrue hours.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Massachusetts electrician license cost?
Application: Journeyman/Systems Technician $31; Master/Systems Contractor $66 (non-refundable). License: Journeyman/Systems Technician $104; Master/Systems Contractor $155 (paid once approved for licensure). Renewal: Journeyman (Class B) $78; Master (Class A) $117 (every 3 years; per the DPL fee schedule).
How do I look up a electrician license in Massachusetts?
Search the official license database at mass.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do electricians in Massachusetts need a surety bond?
No state surety bond is required for an electrician license.
What experience is required for a Massachusetts electrician license?
Journeyman: 8,000 hours over 4+ years under a licensed MA journeyman/master, plus 600 hours of board-approved education and a high-school diploma. Master: hold a MA journeyman license 1+ year, plus 150 hours of master-level education (incl. a 15-hour code-update class).
Is insurance required for electricians in Massachusetts?
Liability: Not a statutory condition of the individual license. An LLC or LLP licensed to provide electrical services must carry professional liability insurance of at least $50,000 per claim, or $150,000 in the aggregate, multiplied by the number of individual licensees it employs or who are its officers or partners (237 CMR 23.01). Property damage: Not separately specified by statute. Workers' compensation: Mandatory for any employer (M.G.L. c. 152).
How long does it take to get a Massachusetts electrician license?
Processing time: Filed online via PSI / the DOL eLIPSE portal.
Is a background check required for electricians in Massachusetts?
Background check: CORI (Criminal Offender Record Information) check required; submit a notarized CORI authorization form.
How often must a Massachusetts electrician license be renewed?
Every 3 years (expires July 31). Continuing education: 21 hours per 3-year cycle: 15 hours of Massachusetts Electrical Code update + 6 hours of professional development (237 CMR 17.00).
Official sources
mass.gov/doc/237-cmr-23-insurance-requirements-for-limited-liability-corporations-and-limited-liability-partnerships/download
mass.gov/regulations/237-CMR-1400-examinations-for-licensure
mass.gov/orgs/board-of-state-examiners-of-electricians
mass.gov/how-to/apply-for-an-individual-electrical-or-systems-license
mass.gov/regulations/237-CMR-1700-mandatory-continuing-education
licensing.reg.state.ma.us/public/dpl_fees/dpl_fees_results.asp?board_code=EL