Hawaii Electrical License Requirements

Official classification: Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification · Issued by the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-13 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division.

⚡ ElectricianHI ✔ Verified 2026-09-20

In Hawaii, electricians must hold the Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification, issued by the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-13 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division, and a surety bond may be required at the licensing board's discretion. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.

How to become a licensed electrician in Hawaii

Follow these steps to earn your Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification. Every figure is verified against the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-13 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division; full detail for each step is further down the page.

  1. Build the required experience. EJ: 5 years (minimum 10,000 hours) in residential or commercial electrical work + 240 hours of approved academic coursework at a University of Hawaii Community College. ES: 4 years as a licensed EJ (or equivalent out-of-state licensed journey-worker experience). C-13 contractor RME: 4 years of full-time supervisory experience in the electrical trade within the past 10 years.
  2. Be ready to post a bond if the board requires one. Not automatically required: for the C-13 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual EJ/ES licenses do not require a bond.
  3. Check the insurance rules. Liability: C-13 contractor: Minimum $100,000 per person / $300,000 per occurrence bodily injury (HAR §16-77-34). Individual EJ/ES: Not required. Property damage: C-13 contractor: Minimum $50,000 per occurrence. Individual EJ/ES: Not required. Workers' compensation: C-13 contractor: Required if entity has employees; exemptions for qualifying sole-owner entities with no other employees (HRS Chapter 386 exclusion). Individual EJ/ES: Not applicable.
  4. Clear the background check. C-13 contractor applicants must disclose prior disciplinary actions, criminal convictions related to contracting, or outstanding judgments. Board reviews history as part of a good-character assessment (honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, fair dealing required under HRS §444). Individual EJ/ES: Not specified by the Board of Electricians and Plumbers.
  5. Meet the credit / financial requirement. C-13 contractor: Complete credit report covering at least the previous 5 years required with application. Individual EJ/ES: Not required.
  6. Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-13 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division — $40 (EJ/ES individual license); $50 (C-13 contractor application, non-refundable) application fee, plus a EJ/ES: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-13 RME: $438 or $334 license fee. Processing time: C-13 contractor: Applications must be submitted by the first Tuesday of the month two months prior to the target board meeting; total process typically 3–4 months; applicants have 6 months after Board approval to pass both exam parts. EJ/ES individual license: Board must approve the application before PSI exam registration.
  7. Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
  8. Keep the license active. Renewal: Individual EJ/ES license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next electrician cycle 2026, 2029). C-13 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). Continuing education: EJ/ES: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2020 National Electrical Code updates each 3-year renewal cycle (offered by Honolulu Community College or the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. C-13 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB.

For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →

Hawaii electrician license lookup

To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Hawaii — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Verify a license now: Search the official mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov database →

License types

Requirements at a glance

Experience requiredEJ: 5 years (minimum 10,000 hours) in residential or commercial electrical work + 240 hours of approved academic coursework at a University of Hawaii Community College. ES: 4 years as a licensed EJ (or equivalent out-of-state licensed journey-worker experience). C-13 contractor RME: 4 years of full-time supervisory experience in the electrical trade within the past 10 years.
Application fee$40 (EJ/ES individual license); $50 (C-13 contractor application, non-refundable)
License feeEJ/ES: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-13 RME: $438 or $334
Renewal feeEJ/ES: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30); C-13 RME: $208 active
Renewal periodIndividual EJ/ES license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next electrician cycle 2026, 2029). C-13 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years).
Continuing educationEJ/ES: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2020 National Electrical Code updates each 3-year renewal cycle (offered by Honolulu Community College or the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. C-13 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB.
Bond requiredNot automatically required: for the C-13 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual EJ/ES licenses do not require a bond.
Liability insuranceC-13 contractor: Minimum $100,000 per person / $300,000 per occurrence bodily injury (HAR §16-77-34). Individual EJ/ES: Not required.
Property damageC-13 contractor: Minimum $50,000 per occurrence. Individual EJ/ES: Not required.
Workers' compC-13 contractor: Required if entity has employees; exemptions for qualifying sole-owner entities with no other employees (HRS Chapter 386 exclusion). Individual EJ/ES: Not applicable.
Background checkC-13 contractor applicants must disclose prior disciplinary actions, criminal convictions related to contracting, or outstanding judgments. Board reviews history as part of a good-character assessment (honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, fair dealing required under HRS §444). Individual EJ/ES: Not specified by the Board of Electricians and Plumbers.
Credit requirementC-13 contractor: Complete credit report covering at least the previous 5 years required with application. Individual EJ/ES: Not required.
ReciprocityNone — Hawaii has no reciprocal licensing agreements with other states. Out-of-state experience (EJ/ES) may be credited if the applicant was licensed in another state/county with substantially equivalent requirements; must submit a notarized Experience Verification Form. C-13 contractor out-of-state experience counts toward the 4-year requirement if properly documented. · other states' agreements
Processing timeC-13 contractor: Applications must be submitted by the first Tuesday of the month two months prior to the target board meeting; total process typically 3–4 months; applicants have 6 months after Board approval to pass both exam parts. EJ/ES individual license: Board must approve the application before PSI exam registration.

What a Hawaii electrician license costs

Application fee$40 (EJ/ES individual license); $50 (C-13 contractor application, non-refundable).
License feeEJ/ES: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-13 RME: $438 or $334.
Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) Exam$95 per attempt.
Supervising Electrician (ES) Exam$95 per attempt.
C-13 Electrical Contractor — Trade Exam$75 per attempt.
C-13 Electrical Contractor — Business and Law Exam$75 per attempt.
Surety bondNot automatically required: for the C-13 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual EJ/ES licenses do not require a bond.
Renewal feeEJ/ES: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30); C-13 RME: $208 active.
Renewal periodIndividual EJ/ES license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next electrician cycle 2026, 2029). C-13 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years).

Exams

Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) ExamProvider: PSI Services LLC (test-takers.psiexams.com/hitrade; (833) 333-4754) · Passing: 75%; 70 questions; open-book (2020 NEC); 3 hours · Fee: $95 per attempt
Supervising Electrician (ES) ExamProvider: PSI Services LLC · Passing: 75%; 100 questions; open-book (2020 NEC); 5 hours · Fee: $95 per attempt
C-13 Electrical Contractor — Trade ExamProvider: PSI Services LLC · Passing: 75%; 40 questions; 2 hours; closed-book · Fee: $75 per attempt
C-13 Electrical Contractor — Business and Law ExamProvider: PSI Services LLC · Passing: 75%; 60 questions; 135 minutes; closed-book · Fee: $75 per attempt

Renewing a Hawaii electrician license

The Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification renews on a fixed cycle set by the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-13 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division. Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.

Renewal periodIndividual EJ/ES license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next electrician cycle 2026, 2029). C-13 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years).
Renewal feeEJ/ES: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30); C-13 RME: $208 active
Continuing educationEJ/ES: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2020 National Electrical Code updates each 3-year renewal cycle (offered by Honolulu Community College or the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. C-13 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB.
Where to renewHawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-13 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division

Renewal period: Individual EJ/ES license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next electrician cycle 2026, 2029). C-13 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). Your expiry date is printed on your license.

Local / municipal notes

An individual electrician license (EJ or ES) does NOT authorize contracting. A separate C-13 contractor classification is required to bid and contract for electrical work (HRS §444). The C-13 RME must be a licensed Supervising Electrician (ES) or equivalent. Both boards are under the DCCA PVL Division but are separate regulatory bodies.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Hawaii electrician license cost?

Application: $40 (EJ/ES individual license); $50 (C-13 contractor application, non-refundable). License: EJ/ES: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-13 RME: $438 or $334. Renewal: EJ/ES: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30); C-13 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30); C-13 RME: $208 active.

How do I look up a electrician license in Hawaii?

Search the official license database at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Do electricians in Hawaii need a surety bond?

Not automatically required: for the C-13 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual EJ/ES licenses do not require a bond.

What experience is required for a Hawaii electrician license?

EJ: 5 years (minimum 10,000 hours) in residential or commercial electrical work + 240 hours of approved academic coursework at a University of Hawaii Community College. ES: 4 years as a licensed EJ (or equivalent out-of-state licensed journey-worker experience). C-13 contractor RME: 4 years of full-time supervisory experience in the electrical trade within the past 10 years.

Is insurance required for electricians in Hawaii?

Liability: C-13 contractor: Minimum $100,000 per person / $300,000 per occurrence bodily injury (HAR §16-77-34). Individual EJ/ES: Not required. Property damage: C-13 contractor: Minimum $50,000 per occurrence. Individual EJ/ES: Not required. Workers' compensation: C-13 contractor: Required if entity has employees; exemptions for qualifying sole-owner entities with no other employees (HRS Chapter 386 exclusion). Individual EJ/ES: Not applicable.

How long does it take to get a Hawaii electrician license?

Processing time: C-13 contractor: Applications must be submitted by the first Tuesday of the month two months prior to the target board meeting; total process typically 3–4 months; applicants have 6 months after Board approval to pass both exam parts. EJ/ES individual license: Board must approve the application before PSI exam registration.

Is a background check required for electricians in Hawaii?

Background check: C-13 contractor applicants must disclose prior disciplinary actions, criminal convictions related to contracting, or outstanding judgments. Board reviews history as part of a good-character assessment (honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, fair dealing required under HRS §444). Individual EJ/ES: Not specified by the Board of Electricians and Plumbers.

Is there a credit or financial requirement for a Hawaii electrician license?

Credit requirement: C-13 contractor: Complete credit report covering at least the previous 5 years required with application. Individual EJ/ES: Not required.

How often must a Hawaii electrician license be renewed?

Individual EJ/ES license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next electrician cycle 2026, 2029). C-13 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). Continuing education: EJ/ES: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2020 National Electrical Code updates each 3-year renewal cycle (offered by Honolulu Community College or the Hawaii Electricians Training Fund). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. C-13 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB.

Fees and rules change frequently (often annually). This page was last verified on 2026-09-20 — always confirm current requirements directly with the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-13 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division before applying. This is not legal advice.

Official sources

cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/electrician-continuing-competency-requirements
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/application-deadline-examination-dates
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/maintain-bond-requirements
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/maintain-and-update-insurance-requirements

🔧 Plumber
Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) / Master Plumber (PM) — individual licenses; C-37 Plumbing Contractor classification
❄️ HVAC
C-52 Ventilating and Air Conditioning Contractor / C-40 Refrigeration Contractor
🏗️ General Contractor
B General Building Contractor
🏠 Roofer
C-42 Roofing Contractor (with sub-classifications including C-42a metal shingles, C-42b wood shakes)
Alabama
Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License
Alaska
Certificate of Fitness - Electrician
Arizona
CR-11 / C-11 / R-11 Electrical
Arkansas
Master Electrician / Journeyman Electrician
California
C-10 Electrical Contractor
Colorado
Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman
Connecticut
Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2)
Delaware
Electrician License
Florida
Electrical Contractor (Certified / Registered)
Georgia
Electrical Contractor License (Class I or Class II)
Idaho
Journeyman Electrician
Illinois
No statewide license — City of Chicago Supervising Electrician License
Indiana
No statewide license — City of Indianapolis Electrical Contractor License
Iowa
Class A Master Electrician / Class A Journeyman Electrician
Kentucky
Electrician License
Louisiana
Electrical classification (statewide, LSLBC)
Maine
Journeyman Electrician
Maryland
Master Electrician / Journeyperson Electrician License
Massachusetts
Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A)
Michigan
Electrical Contractor License (requires qualifying Master Electrician)
Minnesota
Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual)
Mississippi
Commercial Electrical Contractor (Certificate of Responsibility) / Residential Electrical Contractor
Missouri
Statewide Electrical Contractor License (OSEC) — optional; journeyman/master licenses are issued locally
Montana
Journeyman Electrician
Nebraska
Journeyman Electrician
Nevada
C-2 Electrical Contractor
New Hampshire
Electrician
New Jersey
Electrical Contractor License
New Mexico
EE-98 Residential and Commercial Electrical Wiring Contractor
New York
Master Electrician License; Special Electrician License
North Carolina
Electrical Contractor License (Limited / Intermediate / Unlimited / Special Restricted)
North Dakota
Electrician License
Ohio
Electrical Contractor License
Oklahoma
Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor
Oregon
General Journeyman Electrician (J) — issued by BCD; a separate CCB Electrical Contractor license is required to operate a contracting business
Pennsylvania
No Statewide License; Municipal Licensing System (Philadelphia Electrical Contractor example)
Rhode Island
Electrician License
South Carolina
Mechanical Contractor - Electrical (EL) [commercial]; Residential Specialty Contractor - Electrical [residential]
South Dakota
Apprentice Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Electrical Contractor, Class B Electrician
Tennessee
Contractor License, CE (Electrical) classification
Texas
Journeyman / Master Electrician (TDLR)
Utah
E200 General Electrical Contractor / E201 Residential Electrical Contractor (contractor license); individual Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master Electrician licenses are separate
Vermont
Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Type-S Journeyman Electrician
Virginia
Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Electrical (ELE) specialty; plus individual Electrician Tradesman license (Journeyman/Master)
Washington
Electrician Certificate of Competency (Journey Level / Specialty) + Electrical Contractor License
West Virginia
Electrician
Wisconsin
Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor)
Wyoming
Electrician License