Hawaii Plumber License Requirements
Official classification: Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) / Master Plumber (PM) — individual licenses; C-37 Plumbing Contractor classification · Issued by the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-37 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division.
🔧 PlumberHI ✔ Verified 2026-09-20
In Hawaii, plumbers must hold the Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) / Master Plumber (PM) — individual licenses; C-37 Plumbing Contractor classification, issued by the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-37 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division, and a surety bond may be required at the licensing board's discretion. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed plumber in Hawaii
Follow these steps to earn your Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) / Master Plumber (PM) — individual licenses; C-37 Plumbing Contractor classification. Every figure is verified against the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-37 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division; full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. PJ: 5 years (minimum 10,000 hours) of plumbing work in compliance with the Uniform Plumbing Code, including at least 144 hours of related education per year (720 hours total) through a registered apprenticeship or approved University of Hawaii Community College program. PM: 2 years as a licensed PJ. C-37 contractor RME: 4 years of full-time supervisory experience in the plumbing trade within the past 10 years.
- Be ready to post a bond if the board requires one. Not automatically required: for the C-37 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual PJ/PM licenses do not require a bond.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: C-37 contractor: Minimum $100,000 per person / $300,000 per occurrence bodily injury (HAR §16-77-34). Individual PJ/PM: Not required. Property damage: C-37 contractor: Minimum $50,000 per occurrence. Individual PJ/PM: Not required. Workers' compensation: C-37 contractor: Required if entity has employees; exemptions available for qualifying sole-owner entities with no other employees (HRS Chapter 386 exclusion). Individual PJ/PM: Not applicable.
- Clear the background check. C-37 contractor applicants must disclose prior disciplinary actions, criminal convictions related to contracting, or outstanding judgments; Board reviews as part of a good-character assessment (honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, fair dealing required under HRS §444). Individual PJ/PM: Not specified by the Board of Electricians and Plumbers.
- Meet the credit / financial requirement. C-37 contractor: Complete credit report covering at least the previous 5 years required with application. Individual PJ/PM: Not required.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-37 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division — $40 (PJ/PM individual license); $50 (C-37 contractor application, non-refundable) application fee, plus a PJ/PM: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-37 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-37 RME: $438 or $334 license fee. Processing time: C-37 contractor: Applications due by the first Tuesday of the month two months before the target Board meeting; total process typically 3–4 months; applicants have 6 months after Board approval to pass both exam parts. PJ/PM individual license: Board must approve the application before PSI exam registration.
- Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Individual PJ/PM license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next plumber renewal cycle 2027, 2030, 2033). C-37 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). Continuing education: PJ/PM: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) each 3-year renewal cycle (offered at Hawaii Community Colleges). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. Inactive-status licensees are not subject to the requirement. C-37 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB.
For the general path in every state, see the Plumber guide →
Hawaii plumber license lookup
To confirm a plumber is properly licensed in Hawaii — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) — Licensed to perform journeyman-level plumbing work as an employee in compliance with the Uniform Plumbing Code; does not authorize contracting.
- Master Plumber (PM) — Advanced individual plumbing license; may serve as the qualifying RME for a C-37 plumbing contractor entity. Requires 2 years as a licensed PJ.
- C-37 Plumbing Contractor (CLB classification) — Contractor classification to install, repair, or alter complete plumbing systems including supply water piping, hot water systems, waste water piping, fuel gas piping, and related fixtures. Issued under HRS Chapter 444.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | PJ: 5 years (minimum 10,000 hours) of plumbing work in compliance with the Uniform Plumbing Code, including at least 144 hours of related education per year (720 hours total) through a registered apprenticeship or approved University of Hawaii Community College program. PM: 2 years as a licensed PJ. C-37 contractor RME: 4 years of full-time supervisory experience in the plumbing trade within the past 10 years. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $40 (PJ/PM individual license); $50 (C-37 contractor application, non-refundable) |
| License fee | PJ/PM: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-37 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-37 RME: $438 or $334 |
| Renewal fee | PJ/PM: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30; next plumber cycle 2027, 2030); C-37 contractor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30) |
| Renewal period | Individual PJ/PM license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next plumber renewal cycle 2027, 2030, 2033). C-37 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). |
| Continuing education | PJ/PM: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) each 3-year renewal cycle (offered at Hawaii Community Colleges). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. Inactive-status licensees are not subject to the requirement. C-37 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB. |
| Bond required | Not automatically required: for the C-37 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual PJ/PM licenses do not require a bond. |
| Liability insurance | C-37 contractor: Minimum $100,000 per person / $300,000 per occurrence bodily injury (HAR §16-77-34). Individual PJ/PM: Not required. |
| Property damage | C-37 contractor: Minimum $50,000 per occurrence. Individual PJ/PM: Not required. |
| Workers' comp | C-37 contractor: Required if entity has employees; exemptions available for qualifying sole-owner entities with no other employees (HRS Chapter 386 exclusion). Individual PJ/PM: Not applicable. |
| Background check | C-37 contractor applicants must disclose prior disciplinary actions, criminal convictions related to contracting, or outstanding judgments; Board reviews as part of a good-character assessment (honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, fair dealing required under HRS §444). Individual PJ/PM: Not specified by the Board of Electricians and Plumbers. |
| Credit requirement | C-37 contractor: Complete credit report covering at least the previous 5 years required with application. Individual PJ/PM: Not required. |
| Reciprocity | None — Hawaii has no reciprocal licensing agreements with other states for plumbing licenses. Out-of-state experience may be credited toward experience requirements with notarized verification. · other states' agreements |
| Processing time | C-37 contractor: Applications due by the first Tuesday of the month two months before the target Board meeting; total process typically 3–4 months; applicants have 6 months after Board approval to pass both exam parts. PJ/PM individual license: Board must approve the application before PSI exam registration. |
What a Hawaii plumber license costs
| Application fee | $40 (PJ/PM individual license); $50 (C-37 contractor application, non-refundable). |
|---|---|
| License fee | PJ/PM: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-37 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-37 RME: $438 or $334. |
| Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) Exam | $90 per attempt. |
| Master Plumber (PM) Exam | $90 per attempt. |
| C-37 Plumbing Contractor — Trade Exam | $75–$80 per attempt. |
| C-37 Plumbing Contractor — Business and Law Exam | $75–$80 per attempt. |
| Surety bond | Not automatically required: for the C-37 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual PJ/PM licenses do not require a bond. |
| Renewal fee | PJ/PM: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30; next plumber cycle 2027, 2030); C-37 contractor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30). |
| Renewal period | Individual PJ/PM license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next plumber renewal cycle 2027, 2030, 2033). C-37 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). |
Exams
| Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) Exam | Provider: PSI Services LLC (test-takers.psiexams.com/hitrade; (833) 333-4754) · Passing: 70%; 100 questions; closed-book; 3 hours · Fee: $90 per attempt |
|---|---|
| Master Plumber (PM) Exam | Provider: PSI Services LLC · Passing: 70%; 80 questions; closed-book; 3 hours · Fee: $90 per attempt |
| C-37 Plumbing Contractor — Trade Exam | Provider: PSI Services LLC · Passing: 75%; closed-book · Fee: $75–$80 per attempt |
| C-37 Plumbing Contractor — Business and Law Exam | Provider: PSI Services LLC · Passing: 75%; 80 questions; 3 hours; closed-book · Fee: $75–$80 per attempt |
Renewing a Hawaii plumber license
The Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) / Master Plumber (PM) — individual licenses; C-37 Plumbing Contractor classification renews on a fixed cycle set by the Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-37 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division. Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Individual PJ/PM license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next plumber renewal cycle 2027, 2030, 2033). C-37 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | PJ/PM: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30; next plumber cycle 2027, 2030); C-37 contractor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30) |
| Continuing education | PJ/PM: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) each 3-year renewal cycle (offered at Hawaii Community Colleges). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. Inactive-status licensees are not subject to the requirement. C-37 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB. |
| Where to renew | Hawaii Board of Electricians and Plumbers (individual licenses) and Hawaii Contractors License Board (C-37 contractor classification) — both under DCCA Professional and Vocational Licensing Division |
Local / municipal notes
A Journey Worker or Master Plumber individual license does NOT authorize contracting. A separate C-37 contractor classification under HRS Chapter 444 is required to bid and contract for plumbing work. For C-37 applicants who are not themselves licensed plumbers, the entity must employ a licensed plumber (PJ or PM) to perform the actual plumbing work.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Hawaii plumber license cost?
Application: $40 (PJ/PM individual license); $50 (C-37 contractor application, non-refundable). License: PJ/PM: $306 (year 1 of 3-year cycle), $204 (year 2), $102 (year 3); C-37 contractor entity/sole proprietor: $633 or $494 depending on licensing window; C-37 RME: $438 or $334. Renewal: PJ/PM: $306 active / $12 inactive (every 3 years by June 30; next plumber cycle 2027, 2030); C-37 contractor: $338 active / $160 inactive (every 2 years by Sept 30).
How do I look up a plumber license in Hawaii?
Search the official license database at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do plumbers in Hawaii need a surety bond?
Not automatically required: for the C-37 contractor license, the Contractors License Board may require a surety bond of an individual applicant or licensee based on its review of the financial statement and scope of work per HRS §444-16.5. If required, the bond must be maintained continuously; lapse causes automatic license forfeiture. Licensees must maintain the bond for at least 1 year before requesting a waiver. Individual PJ/PM licenses do not require a bond.
What experience is required for a Hawaii plumber license?
PJ: 5 years (minimum 10,000 hours) of plumbing work in compliance with the Uniform Plumbing Code, including at least 144 hours of related education per year (720 hours total) through a registered apprenticeship or approved University of Hawaii Community College program. PM: 2 years as a licensed PJ. C-37 contractor RME: 4 years of full-time supervisory experience in the plumbing trade within the past 10 years.
Is insurance required for plumbers in Hawaii?
Liability: C-37 contractor: Minimum $100,000 per person / $300,000 per occurrence bodily injury (HAR §16-77-34). Individual PJ/PM: Not required. Property damage: C-37 contractor: Minimum $50,000 per occurrence. Individual PJ/PM: Not required. Workers' compensation: C-37 contractor: Required if entity has employees; exemptions available for qualifying sole-owner entities with no other employees (HRS Chapter 386 exclusion). Individual PJ/PM: Not applicable.
How long does it take to get a Hawaii plumber license?
Processing time: C-37 contractor: Applications due by the first Tuesday of the month two months before the target Board meeting; total process typically 3–4 months; applicants have 6 months after Board approval to pass both exam parts. PJ/PM individual license: Board must approve the application before PSI exam registration.
Is a background check required for plumbers in Hawaii?
Background check: C-37 contractor applicants must disclose prior disciplinary actions, criminal convictions related to contracting, or outstanding judgments; Board reviews as part of a good-character assessment (honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, fair dealing required under HRS §444). Individual PJ/PM: Not specified by the Board of Electricians and Plumbers.
Is there a credit or financial requirement for a Hawaii plumber license?
Credit requirement: C-37 contractor: Complete credit report covering at least the previous 5 years required with application. Individual PJ/PM: Not required.
How often must a Hawaii plumber license be renewed?
Individual PJ/PM license: 3 years (renew by June 30; next plumber renewal cycle 2027, 2030, 2033). C-37 contractor classification: 2 years (renew by September 30 of even-numbered years). Continuing education: PJ/PM: Must complete a continuing competency course on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) each 3-year renewal cycle (offered at Hawaii Community Colleges). New licenses issued within 1 year of expiration are exempt for that cycle. Inactive-status licensees are not subject to the requirement. C-37 contractor classification: No continuing education requirement specified by CLB.
Official sources
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/plumber-continuing-competency-requirements
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/maintain-bond-requirements
cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/maintain-and-update-insurance-requirements