Alabama Plumber License Requirements
Official classification: Master Plumber / Journeyman Plumber Certification · Issued by the Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board (PGFB).
🔧 PlumberAL ✔ Verified 2026-06-22
In Alabama, plumbers must hold the Master Plumber / Journeyman Plumber Certification, issued by the Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board (PGFB), and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed plumber in Alabama
Follow these steps to earn your Master Plumber / Journeyman Plumber Certification. Every figure is verified against the Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board (PGFB); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. Journeyman: minimum 2 years as a registered Alabama apprentice (or board-approved apprentice training program equivalent). Master: minimum 1 year of current experience as a certified journeyman plumber.
- Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: $100,000 general liability required for Master Plumber businesses. Property damage: $300,000 property damage insurance required for Master Plumber businesses. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees.
- Clear the background check. Not publicly specified by PGFB
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board (PGFB) — $50 (Journeyman or Master application fee) application fee, plus a $75 (Journeyman certification) / $175 (Master certification) / $35 (Apprentice registration) license fee. Processing time: 90 days after passing exam to pay all fees and obtain certification before re-examination is required.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Annual (renewal window October 1 – December 31; certifications expire December 31). Continuing education: 4 hours annually required for all Journeyman and Master certificate holders effective January 1, 2025; licensees age 65 or older may qualify for exemption with proof of age.
For the general path in every state, see the Plumber guide →
Alabama plumber license lookup
To confirm a plumber is properly licensed in Alabama — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Apprentice Plumber — Entry-level; works under supervision of a journeyman or master
- Journeyman Plumber — Independently installs, repairs, and maintains plumbing systems
- Master Plumber — Supervises journeymen and apprentices; serves as qualifying principal for a plumbing business
- Medical Gas Piping Fitter — Endorsement for qualified professionals with ASSE 6010 Installer certification
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | Journeyman: minimum 2 years as a registered Alabama apprentice (or board-approved apprentice training program equivalent). Master: minimum 1 year of current experience as a certified journeyman plumber. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $50 (Journeyman or Master application fee) |
| License fee | $75 (Journeyman certification) / $175 (Master certification) / $35 (Apprentice registration) |
| Renewal fee | $50/year (Journeyman) / $150/year (Master) / $25/year (Apprentice); late renewal penalty equals renewal rate; business registration renewal $25/year |
| Renewal period | Annual (renewal window October 1 – December 31; certifications expire December 31) |
| Continuing education | 4 hours annually required for all Journeyman and Master certificate holders effective January 1, 2025; licensees age 65 or older may qualify for exemption with proof of age. |
| Bond required | Not required for individual certification; Business Registration requires proof of a qualifying Principal Master Plumber |
| Liability insurance | $100,000 general liability required for Master Plumber businesses |
| Property damage | $300,000 property damage insurance required for Master Plumber businesses |
| Workers' comp | Required if you have employees |
| Background check | Not publicly specified by PGFB |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | Mississippi (Master Plumber reciprocity with Mississippi Board of Contractors, effective January 1, 2026; must pass Alabama Business Law Exam) · compare all states |
| Processing time | 90 days after passing exam to pay all fees and obtain certification before re-examination is required |
What an Alabama plumber license costs
| Application fee | $50 (Journeyman or Master application fee). |
|---|---|
| License fee | $75 (Journeyman certification) / $175 (Master certification) / $35 (Apprentice registration). |
| Journeyman Plumber Examination (based on 2021 International Plumbing Code) | $110. |
| Master Plumber Examination (based on 2021 International Plumbing Code) | $160. |
| Master Business Law Examination (required effective January 1, 2026) | $100. |
| Surety bond | Not required for individual certification; Business Registration requires proof of a qualifying Principal Master Plumber. |
| Renewal fee | $50/year (Journeyman) / $150/year (Master) / $25/year (Apprentice); late renewal penalty equals renewal rate; business registration renewal $25/year. |
| Renewal period | Annual (renewal window October 1 – December 31; certifications expire December 31). |
Exams
| Journeyman Plumber Examination (based on 2021 International Plumbing Code) | Provider: Board-designated examining agency · Passing: 70% (for out-of-state reciprocity); state exam score not publicly disclosed separately · Fee: $110 |
|---|---|
| Master Plumber Examination (based on 2021 International Plumbing Code) | Provider: Board-designated examining agency · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by PGFB · Fee: $160 |
| Master Business Law Examination (required effective January 1, 2026) | Provider: Board-designated examining agency · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by PGFB · Fee: $100 |
Renewing an Alabama plumber license
The Master Plumber / Journeyman Plumber Certification renews on a fixed cycle set by the Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board (PGFB). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Annual (renewal window October 1 – December 31; certifications expire December 31) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $50/year (Journeyman) / $150/year (Master) / $25/year (Apprentice); late renewal penalty equals renewal rate; business registration renewal $25/year |
| Continuing education | 4 hours annually required for all Journeyman and Master certificate holders effective January 1, 2025; licensees age 65 or older may qualify for exemption with proof of age. |
| Where to renew | Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board (PGFB) |
Local / municipal notes
Effective January 2026, all Master-level applicants must pass both the plumbing technical exam and a new Business Law exam. Each trade (plumbing vs. gas fitting) requires a separate Principal Master and business registration.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Alabama plumber license cost?
Application: $50 (Journeyman or Master application fee). License: $75 (Journeyman certification) / $175 (Master certification) / $35 (Apprentice registration). Renewal: $50/year (Journeyman) / $150/year (Master) / $25/year (Apprentice); late renewal penalty equals renewal rate; business registration renewal $25/year.
How do I look up a plumber license in Alabama?
Search the official license database at alpgfb.igovsolution.net. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do plumbers in Alabama need a surety bond?
Not required for individual certification; Business Registration requires proof of a qualifying Principal Master Plumber
What experience is required for an Alabama plumber license?
Journeyman: minimum 2 years as a registered Alabama apprentice (or board-approved apprentice training program equivalent). Master: minimum 1 year of current experience as a certified journeyman plumber.
Is insurance required for plumbers in Alabama?
Liability: $100,000 general liability required for Master Plumber businesses. Property damage: $300,000 property damage insurance required for Master Plumber businesses. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees.
How long does it take to get an Alabama plumber license?
Processing time: 90 days after passing exam to pay all fees and obtain certification before re-examination is required.
Is a background check required for plumbers in Alabama?
Background check: Not publicly specified by PGFB.
How often must an Alabama plumber license be renewed?
Annual (renewal window October 1 – December 31; certifications expire December 31). Continuing education: 4 hours annually required for all Journeyman and Master certificate holders effective January 1, 2025; licensees age 65 or older may qualify for exemption with proof of age.
Official sources
pgfb.alabama.gov
pgfb.alabama.gov/applicants/how-do-i-become-licensed
pgfb.alabama.gov/applicants/exams
pgfb.alabama.gov/applicants/reciprocation
pgfb.alabama.gov/continuing-education
servicetitan.com/licensing/plumbing/alabama