Oklahoma Plumber License Requirements

Official classification: Plumber License · Issued by the Construction Industries Board (CIB).

🔧 PlumberOK ✔ Verified 2026-10-01

In Oklahoma, plumbers must hold the Plumber License, issued by the Construction Industries Board (CIB), and a $5,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.

How to become a licensed plumber in Oklahoma

Follow these steps to earn your Plumber License. Every figure is verified against the Construction Industries Board (CIB); full detail for each step is further down the page.

  1. Build the required experience. Apprentice: minimum age 16; Journeyman: 3 years as apprentice, OR 3 years military plumbing experience, OR valid out-of-state license in good standing. Educational substitutions: 1,000 classroom hours = 2 years; 500 hours = 1 year; 375 hours = 9 months; 334 hours = 8 months; 250 hours = 6 months. Contractor: 1 additional year as licensed journeyman under contractor supervision.
  2. Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
  3. Secure your surety bond. Oklahoma requires $5,000 surety bond payable to CIB (required for contractors; can waive with notarized affidavit).
  4. Check the insurance rules. Liability: $50,000 minimum general liability insurance. Workers' compensation: Not specified.
  5. Clear the background check. Not specified
  6. Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Construction Industries Board (CIB) — Apprentice: $5 application + $20 registration ($25). Journeyman: $25 application + $50 license ($75). Contractor: $30 application + $300 license ($330). Per OAC 158:30-9-2. application fee, plus a Included in the totals above license fee. Processing time: Not publicly disclosed.
  7. Keep the license active. Renewal: Annual (continuing education tracked every 3 years). Continuing education: 6 hours every 3 years for journeymen and contractors only.

For the general path in every state, see the Plumber guide →

Oklahoma plumber license lookup

To confirm a plumber is properly licensed in Oklahoma — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Verify a license now: Search the official okcibv7prod.glsuite.us database →

License types

Requirements at a glance

Experience requiredApprentice: minimum age 16; Journeyman: 3 years as apprentice, OR 3 years military plumbing experience, OR valid out-of-state license in good standing. Educational substitutions: 1,000 classroom hours = 2 years; 500 hours = 1 year; 375 hours = 9 months; 334 hours = 8 months; 250 hours = 6 months. Contractor: 1 additional year as licensed journeyman under contractor supervision.
Application feeApprentice: $5 application + $20 registration ($25). Journeyman: $25 application + $50 license ($75). Contractor: $30 application + $300 license ($330). Per OAC 158:30-9-2.
License feeIncluded in the totals above
Renewal feeApprentice $20; Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late). Per OAC 158:30-9-2.
Renewal periodAnnual (continuing education tracked every 3 years)
Continuing education6 hours every 3 years for journeymen and contractors only
Bond required$5,000 surety bond payable to CIB (required for contractors; can waive with notarized affidavit)
Liability insurance$50,000 minimum general liability insurance
Property damage—
Workers' compNot specified
Background checkNot specified
Credit requirement—
ReciprocityArkansas (Journeyman reciprocity agreement available) · compare all states
Processing timeNot publicly disclosed

What an Oklahoma plumber license costs

Application feeApprentice: $5 application + $20 registration ($25). Journeyman: $25 application + $50 license ($75). Contractor: $30 application + $300 license ($330). Per OAC 158:30-9-2.
License feeIncluded in the totals above.
Journeyman Plumber Exam$92.
Plumbing Contractor Exam$92.
Business & Law Exam$92.
Surety bond$5,000 surety bond payable to CIB (required for contractors; can waive with notarized affidavit). A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety.
Renewal feeApprentice $20; Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late). Per OAC 158:30-9-2.
Renewal periodAnnual (continuing education tracked every 3 years).

Exams

Journeyman Plumber ExamProvider: PSI · Passing: 75% · Fee: $92
Plumbing Contractor ExamProvider: PSI · Passing: 75% · Fee: $92
Business & Law ExamProvider: PSI · Passing: 75% · Fee: $92

Renewing an Oklahoma plumber license

The Plumber License renews on a fixed cycle set by the Construction Industries Board (CIB). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.

Renewal periodAnnual (continuing education tracked every 3 years)
Renewal feeApprentice $20; Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late). Per OAC 158:30-9-2.
Continuing education6 hours every 3 years for journeymen and contractors only
Where to renewConstruction Industries Board (CIB)

Renewal period: Annual (continuing education tracked every 3 years). Your expiry date is printed on your license.

Local / municipal notes

Oklahoma offers multiple license tiers including residential-specific licenses with scope limitations. Bond and insurance requirements can be waived with notarized affidavit. Apprentice license does not require exam.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Oklahoma plumber license cost?

Application: Apprentice: $5 application + $20 registration ($25). Journeyman: $25 application + $50 license ($75). Contractor: $30 application + $300 license ($330). Per OAC 158:30-9-2. License: Included in the totals above. Renewal: Apprentice $20; Journeyman $75 (+$25 late); Contractor $200 (+$100 late). Per OAC 158:30-9-2.

How do I look up a plumber license in Oklahoma?

Search the official license database at okcibv7prod.glsuite.us. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Do plumbers in Oklahoma need a surety bond?

$5,000 surety bond payable to CIB (required for contractors; can waive with notarized affidavit)

What experience is required for an Oklahoma plumber license?

Apprentice: minimum age 16; Journeyman: 3 years as apprentice, OR 3 years military plumbing experience, OR valid out-of-state license in good standing. Educational substitutions: 1,000 classroom hours = 2 years; 500 hours = 1 year; 375 hours = 9 months; 334 hours = 8 months; 250 hours = 6 months. Contractor: 1 additional year as licensed journeyman under contractor supervision.

Is insurance required for plumbers in Oklahoma?

Liability: $50,000 minimum general liability insurance. Workers' compensation: Not specified.

How long does it take to get an Oklahoma plumber license?

Processing time: Not publicly disclosed.

Is a background check required for plumbers in Oklahoma?

Background check: Not specified.

How often must an Oklahoma plumber license be renewed?

Annual (continuing education tracked every 3 years). Continuing education: 6 hours every 3 years for journeymen and contractors only.

Fees and rules change frequently (often annually). This page was last verified on 2026-10-01 — always confirm current requirements directly with the Construction Industries Board (CIB) before applying. This is not legal advice.

Official sources

oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/plumbing.html
oklahoma.gov/cib.html
oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/plumbing/plumbing-contractor.html
oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/testing-and-exam-information.html
oklahoma.gov/cib/forms-and-applications.html
getjobber.com/academy/plumbing-license/oklahoma

⚡ Electrician
Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor
❄️ HVAC
Mechanical License (HVAC/R)
🏠 Roofer
Roofing Contractor Registration
Alabama
Master Plumber / Journeyman Plumber Certification
Alaska
Certificate of Fitness - Plumbing
Arizona
CR-37 / C-37 / R-37R Plumbing
Arkansas
Journeyman / Master Plumber License
California
C-36 Plumbing Contractor
Colorado
Residential Plumber; Journeyworker Plumber; Master Plumber
Connecticut
Unlimited Plumbing Contractor (P-1) / Unlimited Plumbing Journeyperson (P-2)
Delaware
Master Plumber
Florida
Certified / Registered Plumbing Contractor (CILB)
Georgia
Master Plumber License (Restricted or Non-Restricted)
Hawaii
Journey Worker Plumber (PJ) / Master Plumber (PM) — individual licenses; C-37 Plumbing Contractor classification
Idaho
Plumber License
Illinois
Plumber License
Indiana
Journeyman Plumber, Plumbing Contractor
Iowa
Plumber License (Journey and Master Levels)
Kentucky
Plumber License
Louisiana
LSLBC Plumbing classification (company) + State Plumbing Board of Louisiana Journeyman/Master Plumber (individual)
Maine
Plumber
Maryland
Master Plumber/Gas Fitter / Journey Plumber/Gas Fitter License
Massachusetts
Plumber License (Journeyman / Master)
Michigan
Plumbing Contractor License (requires qualifying Master Plumber)
Minnesota
Plumbing Contractor License (with Master Plumber as Responsible Licensed Individual)
Mississippi
Commercial Plumbing Contractor (Mechanical Work – Plumbing specialty) / Residential Plumbing Contractor
Missouri
No statewide plumber license — journeyman and master licenses are issued by cities/counties (RSMo Ch. 341)
Montana
Plumber
Nebraska
No statewide license — Omaha Master Plumber License
Nevada
C-1 Plumbing and Heating Contractor
New Hampshire
Journeyman Plumber
New Jersey
Master Plumber License
New Mexico
MM-1 Plumbing Contractor
New York
Master Plumber License
North Carolina
Plumbing Contractor, Class I / Class II (and Restricted Limited Plumbing Contractor)
North Dakota
Plumber License
Ohio
Plumbing Contractor License
Oregon
Journeyman Plumber (JP) — issued by BCD; a separate CCB license is required to operate a plumbing contracting business
Pennsylvania
No statewide license — Philadelphia Master Plumber License
Rhode Island
Plumber
South Carolina
Mechanical Contractor - Plumbing (PB) [commercial]; Residential Specialty Contractor - Plumbing [residential]
South Dakota
Plumber
Tennessee
Contractor License, CMC-A (Plumbing and Gas Piping) classification
Texas
Tradesman / Journeyman / Master Plumber (TSBPE)
Utah
P200 General Plumbing Contractor / P201 Residential Plumbing Contractor (contractor license); individual Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master Plumber licenses are separate
Vermont
Plumber
Virginia
Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Plumbing (PLB) specialty; plus individual Plumber Tradesman license (Journeyman/Master)
Washington
Plumber Certification (Journey Level / Specialty) + Plumbing Contractor License
West Virginia
Plumber
Wisconsin
Plumber License (Journeyman / Master Plumber)