Alabama Electrical License Requirements

Official classification: Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License · Issued by the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB).

⚡ ElectricianAL ✔ Verified 2026-06-22

In Alabama, electricians must hold the Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License, issued by the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB), and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.

How to become a licensed electrician in Alabama

Follow these steps to earn your Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License. Every figure is verified against the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB); full detail for each step is further down the page.

  1. Build the required experience. Electrical Contractor: minimum 8,000 hours of experience designing, planning, laying out, and directly supervising electrical construction (up to 2,000 hours may be substituted by accredited electrical curriculum at a 2:1 ratio). Journeyman: hands-on field experience required; specifics set by Board.
  2. Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
  3. Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not state-mandated by AECB for individual license; commonly required by project owners and local jurisdictions. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees under Alabama law; exemption may be filed if sole proprietor with no employees.
  4. Clear the background check. Not publicly specified by AECB
  5. Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB) — Not separately listed (included in examination process) application fee, plus a $150 (Electrical Contractor) / $35 (Journeyman Electrician) license fee. Processing time: Applications must be received 14 days before the next Board meeting; Board meets monthly.
  6. Keep the license active. Renewal: Annual (renewal form available online; CE required in odd-numbered years for contractors). Continuing education: 14 CEU hours required every odd-numbered year for Electrical Contractor licensees; Journeyman Electricians currently not required to submit CE hours.

For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →

Alabama electrician license lookup

To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Alabama — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Verify a license now: Search the official alecb-search.kalmservices.net database →

License types

Requirements at a glance

Experience requiredElectrical Contractor: minimum 8,000 hours of experience designing, planning, laying out, and directly supervising electrical construction (up to 2,000 hours may be substituted by accredited electrical curriculum at a 2:1 ratio). Journeyman: hands-on field experience required; specifics set by Board.
Application feeNot separately listed (included in examination process)
License fee$150 (Electrical Contractor) / $35 (Journeyman Electrician)
Renewal fee$150/year (Active Electrical Contractor); $35/year (Active Journeyman); $75/year (Active Provisional Electrician); $50 late fee for Electrical Contractor renewals received after the renewal month (AECB annual renewal form)
Renewal periodAnnual (renewal form available online; CE required in odd-numbered years for contractors)
Continuing education14 CEU hours required every odd-numbered year for Electrical Contractor licensees; Journeyman Electricians currently not required to submit CE hours.
Bond requiredNo state-level surety bond is required by the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB); some municipalities (e.g. the City of Birmingham) require a local permit bond (commonly around $10,000).
Liability insuranceNot state-mandated by AECB for individual license; commonly required by project owners and local jurisdictions
Property damage—
Workers' compRequired if you have employees under Alabama law; exemption may be filed if sole proprietor with no employees
Background checkNot publicly specified by AECB
Credit requirementNone
ReciprocityMississippi; Tennessee; North Carolina; South Carolina; Virginia; Ohio; Louisiana; Texas; Georgia (reciprocity has ended — the AECB no longer shares reciprocity with Georgia); NASCLA National Electrical Contractor Exam holders may apply for waiver · compare all states
Processing timeApplications must be received 14 days before the next Board meeting; Board meets monthly

What an Alabama electrician license costs

Application feeNot separately listed (included in examination process).
License fee$150 (Electrical Contractor) / $35 (Journeyman Electrician).
Electrical Contractor Examination (based on 2023 NFPA 70 NEC; 2026 code effective Jan 1 2027)$165.
Alabama Business & Law Exam (required for reciprocity applicants)Included in reciprocal application fee.
Journeyman Electrician Examination$115.
Surety bondNo state-level surety bond is required by the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB); some municipalities (e.g. the City of Birmingham) require a local permit bond (commonly around $10,000).
Renewal fee$150/year (Active Electrical Contractor); $35/year (Active Journeyman); $75/year (Active Provisional Electrician); $50 late fee for Electrical Contractor renewals received after the renewal month (AECB annual renewal form).
Renewal periodAnnual (renewal form available online; CE required in odd-numbered years for contractors).

Exams

Electrical Contractor Examination (based on 2023 NFPA 70 NEC; 2026 code effective Jan 1 2027)Provider: Provexam.com · Passing: 75% · Fee: $165
Alabama Business & Law Exam (required for reciprocity applicants)Provider: Provexam.com · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by AECB · Fee: Included in reciprocal application fee
Journeyman Electrician ExaminationProvider: Provexam.com · Passing: 75% · Fee: $115

Renewing an Alabama electrician license

The Electrical Contractor License / Journeyman Electrician License renews on a fixed cycle set by the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.

Renewal periodAnnual (renewal form available online; CE required in odd-numbered years for contractors)
Renewal fee$150/year (Active Electrical Contractor); $35/year (Active Journeyman); $75/year (Active Provisional Electrician); $50 late fee for Electrical Contractor renewals received after the renewal month (AECB annual renewal form)
Continuing education14 CEU hours required every odd-numbered year for Electrical Contractor licensees; Journeyman Electricians currently not required to submit CE hours.
Where to renewAlabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB)

Renewal period: Annual (renewal form available online; CE required in odd-numbered years for contractors). Your expiry date is printed on your license.

Local / municipal notes

Reciprocal license fee is $315 (effective February 14, 2026). All fees non-refundable. Applicants cannot self-certify their own experience hours.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Alabama electrician license cost?

Application: Not separately listed (included in examination process). License: $150 (Electrical Contractor) / $35 (Journeyman Electrician). Renewal: $150/year (Active Electrical Contractor); $35/year (Active Journeyman); $75/year (Active Provisional Electrician); $50 late fee for Electrical Contractor renewals received after the renewal month (AECB annual renewal form).

How do I look up a electrician license in Alabama?

Search the official license database at alecb-search.kalmservices.net. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Do electricians in Alabama need a surety bond?

No state-level surety bond is required by the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB); some municipalities (e.g. the City of Birmingham) require a local permit bond (commonly around $10,000).

What experience is required for an Alabama electrician license?

Electrical Contractor: minimum 8,000 hours of experience designing, planning, laying out, and directly supervising electrical construction (up to 2,000 hours may be substituted by accredited electrical curriculum at a 2:1 ratio). Journeyman: hands-on field experience required; specifics set by Board.

Is insurance required for electricians in Alabama?

Liability: Not state-mandated by AECB for individual license; commonly required by project owners and local jurisdictions. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees under Alabama law; exemption may be filed if sole proprietor with no employees.

How long does it take to get an Alabama electrician license?

Processing time: Applications must be received 14 days before the next Board meeting; Board meets monthly.

Is a background check required for electricians in Alabama?

Background check: Not publicly specified by AECB.

How often must an Alabama electrician license be renewed?

Annual (renewal form available online; CE required in odd-numbered years for contractors). Continuing education: 14 CEU hours required every odd-numbered year for Electrical Contractor licensees; Journeyman Electricians currently not required to submit CE hours.

Fees and rules change frequently (often annually). This page was last verified on 2026-06-22 — always confirm current requirements directly with the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (AECB) before applying. This is not legal advice.

Official sources

aecb.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/ECB-New-Renewal-Form.pdf
aecb.alabama.gov
aecb.alabama.gov/licensees/forms
aecb.alabama.gov/licensees/continuing-education
aecb.alabama.gov/licensees/faq
aecb.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/EC-1-Application-for-Licensure-ECB-1.pdf

🔧 Plumber
Master Plumber / Journeyman Plumber Certification
❄️ HVAC
Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractor Certification
🏗️ General Contractor
General Contractor License (Commercial) / Residential Home Builder License
🏠 Roofer
Roofers License
Alaska
Certificate of Fitness - Electrician
Arizona
CR-11 / C-11 / R-11 Electrical
Arkansas
Master Electrician / Journeyman Electrician
California
C-10 Electrical Contractor
Colorado
Journeyman Electrician; Master Electrician; Residential Wireman
Connecticut
Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2)
Delaware
Electrician License
Florida
Electrical Contractor (Certified / Registered)
Georgia
Electrical Contractor License (Class I or Class II)
Hawaii
Journeyworker Electrician (EJ) / Supervising Electrician (ES) — individual licenses; C-13 Electrical Contractor classification
Idaho
Journeyman Electrician
Illinois
No statewide license — City of Chicago Supervising Electrician License
Indiana
No statewide license — City of Indianapolis Electrical Contractor License
Iowa
Class A Master Electrician / Class A Journeyman Electrician
Kentucky
Electrician License
Louisiana
Electrical classification (statewide, LSLBC)
Maine
Journeyman Electrician
Maryland
Master Electrician / Journeyperson Electrician License
Massachusetts
Electrician License (Journeyman Class B / Master Class A)
Michigan
Electrical Contractor License (requires qualifying Master Electrician)
Minnesota
Electrical Contractor License (with Master Electrician as Responsible Licensed Individual)
Mississippi
Commercial Electrical Contractor (Certificate of Responsibility) / Residential Electrical Contractor
Missouri
Statewide Electrical Contractor License (OSEC) — optional; journeyman/master licenses are issued locally
Montana
Journeyman Electrician
Nebraska
Journeyman Electrician
Nevada
C-2 Electrical Contractor
New Hampshire
Electrician
New Jersey
Electrical Contractor License
New Mexico
EE-98 Residential and Commercial Electrical Wiring Contractor
New York
Master Electrician License; Special Electrician License
North Carolina
Electrical Contractor License (Limited / Intermediate / Unlimited / Special Restricted)
North Dakota
Electrician License
Ohio
Electrical Contractor License
Oklahoma
Electrical Journeyman and Electrical Contractor
Oregon
General Journeyman Electrician (J) — issued by BCD; a separate CCB Electrical Contractor license is required to operate a contracting business
Pennsylvania
No Statewide License; Municipal Licensing System (Philadelphia Electrical Contractor example)
Rhode Island
Electrician License
South Carolina
Mechanical Contractor - Electrical (EL) [commercial]; Residential Specialty Contractor - Electrical [residential]
South Dakota
Apprentice Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Electrical Contractor, Class B Electrician
Tennessee
Contractor License, CE (Electrical) classification
Texas
Journeyman / Master Electrician (TDLR)
Utah
E200 General Electrical Contractor / E201 Residential Electrical Contractor (contractor license); individual Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master Electrician licenses are separate
Vermont
Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Type-S Journeyman Electrician
Virginia
Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Electrical (ELE) specialty; plus individual Electrician Tradesman license (Journeyman/Master)
Washington
Electrician Certificate of Competency (Journey Level / Specialty) + Electrical Contractor License
West Virginia
Electrician
Wisconsin
Electrician License (Registered / Journeyman / Master / Electrical Contractor)
Wyoming
Electrician License