Connecticut Home Improvement Contractor License Requirements

Official classification: Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration · Issued by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Trade Practices Division.

🔨 Home Improvement ContractorCT ✔ Verified 2026-09-19

In Connecticut, home improvement contractors must hold the Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration, issued by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Trade Practices Division, and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.

How to become a licensed home improvement contractor in Connecticut

Follow these steps to earn your Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration. Every figure is verified against the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Trade Practices Division; full detail for each step is further down the page.

  1. Build the required experience. No minimum experience, apprenticeship, or education requirement to register. HIC registration is a consumer-protection registration, not a trade license — it does not certify skill in any specific trade.
  2. Confirm exam requirements. Connecticut sets no state trade exam for this license, though your city or county may require one.
  3. Line up insurance. You'll need liability insurance (Minimum $20,000 general liability insurance is required to be eligible for HIC registration (CGS § 20-421). Applicants must provide their insurer's name and policy number on the application and at each renewal.), and workers' compensation coverage.
  4. Clear the background check. Not specified by DCP as a standard HIC registration requirement in the sources reviewed.
  5. Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Trade Practices Division — $220 total for a first-year registration ($120 registration fee + $100 annual Home Improvement Guaranty Fund contribution, non-refundable, per Conn. Gen. Stat. §20-432) application fee, plus a Included in the application fee — no separate certificate-issuance fee license fee. Processing time: Not published by DCP. Applications are filed online through the eLicense portal.
  6. Keep the license active. Renew annual; every certificate expires March 31 regardless of issue date (CGS § 20-427 — the cycle moved from November 30 to March 31 in 2021–22). Renewal notices are sent roughly 30 days before expiration.

Connecticut home improvement contractor license lookup

To confirm a home improvement contractor is properly licensed in Connecticut — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Verify a license now: Search the official elicense.ct.gov database →

License types

Requirements at a glance

Experience requiredNo minimum experience, apprenticeship, or education requirement to register. HIC registration is a consumer-protection registration, not a trade license — it does not certify skill in any specific trade.
Application fee$220 total for a first-year registration ($120 registration fee + $100 annual Home Improvement Guaranty Fund contribution, non-refundable, per Conn. Gen. Stat. §20-432)
License feeIncluded in the application fee — no separate certificate-issuance fee
Renewal fee$220/year ($120 renewal fee + $100 Guaranty Fund contribution); online renewal only through eLicense
Renewal periodAnnual; every certificate expires March 31 regardless of issue date (CGS § 20-427 — the cycle moved from November 30 to March 31 in 2021–22). Renewal notices are sent roughly 30 days before expiration.
Continuing educationNone required for HIC registration.
Bond requiredNo surety bond is required as a standard condition of HIC registration. Registrants instead pay $100/year into the state Home Improvement Guaranty Fund (Conn. Gen. Stat. §20-432), which reimburses homeowners for court-awarded actual damages and costs (not punitive damages) against a registered contractor, up to $25,000 per eligible claim. Under CGS § 20-422 the DCP commissioner MAY require a $15,000 bond meeting § 20-426a as a condition of issuance, renewal or reinstatement, but only for the disciplinary reasons listed in § 20-426 — it is not a standard requirement.
Liability insuranceMinimum $20,000 general liability insurance is required to be eligible for HIC registration (CGS § 20-421). Applicants must provide their insurer's name and policy number on the application and at each renewal.
Property damageCovered within the general liability policy; no separate state-mandated property-damage minimum is specified.
Workers' compRequired for any business with one or more employees, per Conn. Gen. Stat. §31-284.
Background checkNot specified by DCP as a standard HIC registration requirement in the sources reviewed.
Credit requirementNone
ReciprocityNone
Processing timeNot published by DCP. Applications are filed online through the eLicense portal.

Exams

No state trade exam is required — the Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration is a registration, not an examined license. Local jurisdictions may set their own exam requirements.

Renewing a Connecticut home improvement contractor license

The Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration renews on a fixed cycle set by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Trade Practices Division. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.

Renewal periodAnnual; every certificate expires March 31 regardless of issue date (CGS § 20-427 — the cycle moved from November 30 to March 31 in 2021–22). Renewal notices are sent roughly 30 days before expiration.
Renewal fee$220/year ($120 renewal fee + $100 Guaranty Fund contribution); online renewal only through eLicense
Continuing educationNone required for HIC registration.
Where to renewConnecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Trade Practices Division

Local / municipal notes

HIC registration covers work on EXISTING residential property only. If you build new homes, you need the separate New Home Construction Contractor (NHCC) registration instead (Conn. Gen. Stat. Chapter 399a) — HIC does not cover ground-up new construction. Large commercial projects fall under a separate Major Contractor registration. Some contractors (e.g., those doing both remodeling and new-home work) must hold HIC and NHCC concurrently. Connecticut does not recognize out-of-state contractor licenses or registrations for HIC purposes — anyone performing covered work in Connecticut must register with DCP regardless of credentials held elsewhere.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Connecticut home improvement contractor license cost?

Application: $220 total for a first-year registration ($120 registration fee + $100 annual Home Improvement Guaranty Fund contribution, non-refundable, per Conn. Gen. Stat. §20-432). License: Included in the application fee — no separate certificate-issuance fee. Renewal: $220/year ($120 renewal fee + $100 Guaranty Fund contribution); online renewal only through eLicense.

How do I look up a home improvement contractor license in Connecticut?

Search the official license database at elicense.ct.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.

Do home improvement contractors in Connecticut need a surety bond?

No surety bond is required as a standard condition of HIC registration. Registrants instead pay $100/year into the state Home Improvement Guaranty Fund (Conn. Gen. Stat. §20-432), which reimburses homeowners for court-awarded actual damages and costs (not punitive damages) against a registered contractor, up to $25,000 per eligible claim. Under CGS § 20-422 the DCP commissioner MAY require a $15,000 bond meeting § 20-426a as a condition of issuance, renewal or reinstatement, but only for the disciplinary reasons listed in § 20-426 — it is not a standard requirement.

What experience is required for a Connecticut home improvement contractor license?

No minimum experience, apprenticeship, or education requirement to register. HIC registration is a consumer-protection registration, not a trade license — it does not certify skill in any specific trade.

Is insurance required for home improvement contractors in Connecticut?

Liability: Minimum $20,000 general liability insurance is required to be eligible for HIC registration (CGS § 20-421). Applicants must provide their insurer's name and policy number on the application and at each renewal. Workers' compensation: Required for any business with one or more employees, per Conn. Gen. Stat. §31-284.

How often must a Connecticut home improvement contractor license be renewed?

Annual; every certificate expires March 31 regardless of issue date (CGS § 20-427 — the cycle moved from November 30 to March 31 in 2021–22). Renewal notices are sent roughly 30 days before expiration..

Do I need a Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) registration or a New Home Construction Contractor (NHCC) registration?

HIC registration covers repair, replacement, remodeling, and improvement work on existing residential property. If you build new homes from the ground up, you need the separate NHCC registration instead (Conn. Gen. Stat. Chapter 399a) — HIC does not cover new-home construction, and some contractors need both.

What must a Connecticut home improvement contract include?

Under Conn. Gen. Stat. §20-429, the contract must be in writing, signed by both owner and contractor, contain the entire agreement, show the transaction date, the contractor's name/address/registration number, a notice of the owner's cancellation rights, a starting and completion date, and be entered into by a registered contractor or registered salesperson. The cancellation-rights notice follows the Home Solicitation Sales Act (chapter 740), which lets the homeowner cancel within three business days. A contract missing required elements is not valid or enforceable against the owner.

What happens if I do home improvement work without registering?

Unregistered home improvement work violates Chapter 400, which is treated as an unfair or deceptive trade practice under CUTPA: the Attorney General can seek civil penalties of up to $5,000 per willful violation, or up to $25,000 per violation of a court injunction (CGS § 42-110o), and DCP can impose an administrative penalty of up to $1,500 per violation (§ 20-427). Under § 20-427(c), failing to refund a customer within 10 days of a written request — when no substantial work was done and more than 30 days have passed since the starting date — is a class B misdemeanor if the contract price is $10,000 or less and a class A misdemeanor above $10,000. An unregistered contractor's contract also generally cannot be enforced against the homeowner.

What does the Home Improvement Guaranty Fund cover, and do I need a bond too?

Each registered contractor pays $100/year into the state Home Improvement Guaranty Fund in place of a standard surety bond. If a homeowner obtains a court judgment against a registered contractor for actual damages (not punitive damages) and cannot collect, DCP can order payment from the fund, up to $25,000 per eligible claim, and can revoke the contractor's registration until the fund is repaid. A $15,000 bond is only required if DCP orders one under CGS § 20-422 as a condition of issuance, renewal or reinstatement, which it may do for the disciplinary reasons in § 20-426.

Do salespeople who sell home improvement contracts need their own registration?

Yes. Anyone who sells, solicits, or negotiates home improvement contracts on behalf of a registered contractor must hold a separate Home Improvement Salesperson registration with DCP — a home improvement contract is only enforceable if signed through a registered contractor or a registered salesperson.

When does a Connecticut HIC registration expire, and how is it renewed?

Registration must be renewed annually online through the DCP eLicense portal, and expires March 31 each year regardless of when it was issued. DCP sends renewal notices roughly 30 days before expiration.

Fees and rules change frequently (often annually). This page was last verified on 2026-09-19 — always confirm current requirements directly with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) – Trade Practices Division before applying. This is not legal advice.

Official sources

portal.ct.gov/dcp/license-services-division/all-license-applications/home-improvement-applications
portal.ct.gov/dcp/license-services-division/all-license-applications/home-improvement-salesperson-registration
portal.ct.gov/dcp/consumer/consumers----home-improvement-contracts
portal.ct.gov/dcp/consumer/guaranty-fund
elicense.ct.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx
cga.ct.gov/current/pub/Chap_400.htm
law.justia.com/codes/connecticut/title-20/chapter-400/section-20-429
law.justia.com/codes/connecticut/2012/title-20/chapter-400/section-20-432

Other Connecticut contractor licenses

⚡ Electrician
Unlimited Electrical Contractor (E-1) / Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson (E-2)
🔧 Plumber
Unlimited Plumbing Contractor (P-1) / Unlimited Plumbing Journeyperson (P-2)
❄️ HVAC
Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Contractor (S-1) / Unlimited Heating, Piping, and Cooling Journeyperson (S-2)
🏗️ General Contractor
New Home Construction Contractor (NHCC) Registration
🏠 Roofer
Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration

Home Improvement Contractor licensing in other states

Massachusetts
Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) Registration
Tennessee
Home Improvement Contractor License