Indiana HVAC License Requirements
Official classification: HVAC Contractor License · Issued by the Department of Business and Neighborhood Services, Contractor Licensing (Indianapolis/Marion County).
❄️ HVACIN ✔ Verified 2026-06-25
In Indiana, HVAC contractors must hold the HVAC Contractor License, issued by the Department of Business and Neighborhood Services, Contractor Licensing (Indianapolis/Marion County), and a $5,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed HVAC contractor in Indiana
Follow these steps to earn your HVAC Contractor License. Every figure is verified against the Department of Business and Neighborhood Services, Contractor Licensing (Indianapolis/Marion County); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. Minimum 5 years of work experience in HVAC trade, verified by employment documentation from current and former employers on original letterhead, or combination of education and practical work experience
- Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Secure your surety bond. Indiana requires $5,000 required.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Minimum $500,000 per occurrence for bodily injury and property damage, or $500,000 per occurrence combined coverage. Property damage: $100,000 minimum for property damage per occurrence (if separate from liability). Workers' compensation: Required for employees; exemption certificate available for sole proprietors, partnerships, and LLCs without employees.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Department of Business and Neighborhood Services, Contractor Licensing (Indianapolis/Marion County) — Prorated by filing date within the 2-year term (City of Indianapolis): new business license $247 filed Jan–Jun of the even year, $185 Jul–Dec of the even year, $124 in the odd year. Business license fees are not assessed for sole proprietorships. application fee, plus a New license holder fee, prorated the same way: $377, $283 or $189 (City of Indianapolis) license fee. Processing time: 10 business days minimum before Board meeting (Board meets 2nd Monday of each month); several weeks estimated for full processing.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years (expires December 31 of odd-numbered years).
For the general path in every state, see the HVAC guide →
Indiana HVAC contractor license lookup
To confirm an HVAC contractor is properly licensed in Indiana — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Air Conditioning A — Unrestricted; no limitations on system size or type
- Air Conditioning B — Limited to systems up to 25 tons cooling or 500,000 BTUs heating; boiler pressures up to 15 psig steam and 30 psig water
- Air Conditioning D — Limited to systems up to 5 tons cooling or 300,000 BTUs heating
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | Minimum 5 years of work experience in HVAC trade, verified by employment documentation from current and former employers on original letterhead, or combination of education and practical work experience |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Prorated by filing date within the 2-year term (City of Indianapolis): new business license $247 filed Jan–Jun of the even year, $185 Jul–Dec of the even year, $124 in the odd year. Business license fees are not assessed for sole proprietorships. |
| License fee | New license holder fee, prorated the same way: $377, $283 or $189 (City of Indianapolis) |
| Renewal fee | $247.00 per license holder; $247.00 for business renewal; every 2 years |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (expires December 31 of odd-numbered years) |
| Continuing education | None required |
| Bond required | $5,000 required |
| Liability insurance | Minimum $500,000 per occurrence for bodily injury and property damage, or $500,000 per occurrence combined coverage |
| Property damage | $100,000 minimum for property damage per occurrence (if separate from liability) |
| Workers' comp | Required for employees; exemption certificate available for sole proprietors, partnerships, and LLCs without employees |
| Background check | None |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | No statewide reciprocity (Indiana has no state HVAC license). City of Indianapolis: a holder of a license from another jurisdiction that required the appropriate Prometric or Prov exam may qualify for a reciprocal license through the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners. · other states' agreements |
| Processing time | 10 business days minimum before Board meeting (Board meets 2nd Monday of each month); several weeks estimated for full processing |
What an Indiana hvac license costs
| Application fee | Prorated by filing date within the 2-year term (City of Indianapolis): new business license $247 filed Jan–Jun of the even year, $185 Jul–Dec of the even year, $124 in the odd year. Business license fees are not assessed for sole proprietorships. |
|---|---|
| License fee | New license holder fee, prorated the same way: $377, $283 or $189 (City of Indianapolis). |
| Air Conditioning A License Exam | Not publicly disclosed. |
| Air Conditioning B License Exam | Not publicly disclosed. |
| Air Conditioning D License Exam | Not publicly disclosed. |
| Surety bond | $5,000 required. A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety. |
| Renewal fee | $247.00 per license holder; $247.00 for business renewal; every 2 years. |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (expires December 31 of odd-numbered years). |
Exams
| Air Conditioning A License Exam | Provider: Prov Inc. · Passing: 70% · Fee: Not publicly disclosed |
|---|---|
| Air Conditioning B License Exam | Provider: Prov Inc. · Passing: 70% · Fee: Not publicly disclosed |
| Air Conditioning D License Exam | Provider: Prov Inc. · Passing: 70% · Fee: Not publicly disclosed |
Renewing an Indiana HVAC contractor license
The HVAC Contractor License renews on a fixed cycle set by the Department of Business and Neighborhood Services, Contractor Licensing (Indianapolis/Marion County). Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (expires December 31 of odd-numbered years) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $247.00 per license holder; $247.00 for business renewal; every 2 years |
| Continuing education | None required |
| Where to renew | Department of Business and Neighborhood Services, Contractor Licensing (Indianapolis/Marion County) |
Local / municipal notes
Indiana has no state-level HVAC licensing. Each city and county sets its own requirements. This data represents Indianapolis/Marion County requirements only. Other Indiana municipalities may have different requirements. Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners meets 2nd Monday monthly at 1:30pm.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Indiana hvac license cost?
Application: Prorated by filing date within the 2-year term (City of Indianapolis): new business license $247 filed Jan–Jun of the even year, $185 Jul–Dec of the even year, $124 in the odd year. Business license fees are not assessed for sole proprietorships. License: New license holder fee, prorated the same way: $377, $283 or $189 (City of Indianapolis). Renewal: $247.00 per license holder; $247.00 for business renewal; every 2 years.
How do I look up a hvac license in Indiana?
Search the official license database at aca-prod.accela.com. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do hvacs in Indiana need a surety bond?
$5,000 required
What experience is required for an Indiana hvac license?
Minimum 5 years of work experience in HVAC trade, verified by employment documentation from current and former employers on original letterhead, or combination of education and practical work experience
Is insurance required for hvacs in Indiana?
Liability: Minimum $500,000 per occurrence for bodily injury and property damage, or $500,000 per occurrence combined coverage. Property damage: $100,000 minimum for property damage per occurrence (if separate from liability). Workers' compensation: Required for employees; exemption certificate available for sole proprietors, partnerships, and LLCs without employees.
How long does it take to get an Indiana hvac license?
Processing time: 10 business days minimum before Board meeting (Board meets 2nd Monday of each month); several weeks estimated for full processing.
How often must an Indiana hvac license be renewed?
Every 2 years (expires December 31 of odd-numbered years). Continuing education: None required.
Official sources
us-east-1-indy.graphassets.com/ActDBC5rvRWeCZlNNnLrDz/cmngejlkx0peg07ljq0zsuzlm
indy.gov/activity/contractor-licenses
servicetitan.com/licensing/hvac/indiana
hvaccertification.org/hvac-license-indiana
hvaclicense.com/indianapolis-hvacr-license-requirements
housecallpro.com/hvac/licensing/indiana
uslicenses.com/indiana-hvac-license
us-east-1-indy.graphassets.com/ActDBC5rvRWeCZlNNnLrDz/cmg9so0q30ajx07jxcx9ut254
budgetheating.com/blog/indiana-hvac-regulatory-oversight-complete-guide
contractorlicenserequirements.com/indiana/hvac-license-requirements